i ♥ FOOD – Cebu’s Tuslob Buwa, Eating Pig’s Brain

in #food6 years ago (edited)


Hello Steemit Fretz!

I’m going to introduce to you a must eat dish here in Cebu! You got to have a strong stomach because for some, eating this dish doesn’t sound really appetizing. My fretz and I always love food tripping. A few years back, we used to love and go eat Tuslob Buwa.

What is Tuslob Buwa?

Ingredients:

  • Pork Brain (minced)
  • Pork Liver (minced)
  • A little bit of garlic and onioin
  • Spices (Chili, Salt and Pepper)
  • Pork Brain (minced)
  • These are the basic ingredients when cooking and if you want to try the tuslob buwa experience.

    The English translation of Tuslob Buwa is “Dipping it in Bubbles,” because you eat on the pan. You dip your hanging rice (puso) on the pan and eat it.


    Hanging Rice or Puso
    Puso (Hanging Rice) – This is rice cooked and placed in a triangle case that is made of coconut leaves.

    Origin

    There are quite a few Tuslob Buwa places here in Cebu. Each set of customers is provided with his or her own cooking utensils and ingredients. However, the original tuslob buwa is exactly the opposite.

    ”Pasil” is the place where this exotic dish came from. Instead of being provided by separate cooking utensils and cooking stuff, you get to share it with strangers. Yes, dip and eat on a big pan with strangers.

    Tuslob Buwa at Kanta Na!



    Out of the blue, one of my fretz felt like eating Tuslob Buwa and this place is one of those that opens late nights. I am so far from them so we had to pick a place where they wouldn’t close right away. We picked Kanta Nata, which is a also offers grilled seafood.


    Here are the ingredients.

    Waiting for the pan to heat up!

    All the ingredients are mixed together and waiting for it to cook!

    Boom! It’s ready! It’s time to Dip the puso and eat!


    Here’s a video that I found online by the Best Ever Food Review Show. In this video, the guy called Tuslob Buwa as Brain Gravy. It really makes sense since the end product does look like a gravy.

    I think Tuslob Buwa is not that exotic as compared to other dishes. Then it’s not as yucky (for me) because the Brain is totally chopped and smashed into pieces. Lol. So, it isn’t so obvious that it’s made of brains.

    How about you my fretz, would you give it a try?

    steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

    All photos are mine and should not be reused for any other purpose.

    Sort:  

    I am sure it is tasty, but I for some irrational reason, not sure I would seek it out. It probably takes getting a few tries to get accustomed to it. Thanks for sharing though, its good to learn about other cultures and recipes.

    Thanks for dropping by! I understand what you mean. I'm glad you get to know a bit of my country and it's dishes. ^^

    Pork brain???
    Lol! I dont eat brains coz I'd feel like a zombie 😀

    Hahahah! I haven't transformed so far so I think you're good. ^^

    I love the sound of Puso, but not sure about the brains!

    Puso is basically rice so it is yum. :) I understand you not liking the brains though. :) Thank you for reblogging my post as well. I'm touched! ^^

    I've never had brains before lol. Not to eat anyway.

    Hahahha :) Do you want to try?

    Nope not for me! Sorry my friend. I cook liver every now and then at the restaurant and I do not like the smell of it. Thinking brains wouldn't have the sweetest of scents neither.

    I never really remember the smell. It was okay with me. Hahahah! Noted Foxy! I'd better not include this when you come visit! ^^

    oh please don't :p I am fine with chicken and beef and rice and noodles and fruit and veggies and and and lol :p

    I don't think I could eat the brains, but I realize different cultures eat different things. I know not too long ago in this country brains, tongue, feet were pretty popular. I think those have fallen away in our country when butchers were replaced by pre-packaged meats at the market.

    Yes, we do. :) I haven't tried tongues though. Thanks for checking this out. :)

    I know a lot of people eat the brains, the feet, the deep fried ears, and other internal parts, but me I think I will stay with bacon, and ham hocks, and whole hams, and BBQ pork, Just goes to show just how versatile a food source the pig/boar are. You got Hive Bombed.

    Yes, I did. I'm happy knowing the Hive Bomb Family. :) Always happy to be in different communities. ^^

    Oh boy, that would not be for me.I'm even having trouble eating liver or kidneys, so brain is totally out of the question.

    @daan :) It's not too obvious though so you'll never know that there are brains there. ^^ Liver is quite good as well. :)

    that sounds totally gross and therefore something that I would love to try one day! It seems that the Philippines has lots of unique food - I'll get over there one day to eat it all ;)

    Hahahah. I think other country have different exotic foods as well. I saw some so I won't really consider pig's brain as totally gross. lol If ever you'll come please do give it a taste and let us know what you think. :)

    Parang narinig ko yan somewhere. Game ako dyan.

    Hahaha pag pumunta ka ng Cebu, try mo to. :)

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.14
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.024
    BTC 51981.11
    ETH 2334.35
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 1.97