The Most Expensive Food Fish of the Philippines

in #food7 years ago

(Image source)

The Ludong also called “banak”, the “president’s fish,” lobed river mullet and scientifically named Cestraeus plicatilis, is the most expensive food fish in the Philippines. It is widely proclaimed to be the most delicious fish in the country. It is the top choice of presidents, high-ranking politicians, royalty, the elite of Filipino society and Hollywood stars. It was the favorite dish of the late Philipine President and dictator, Ferdinand E. Marcos.

This food fish costs about 5,000 Philippine Pesos or about 100 U.S. Dollars per kilogram if you would like to try the Ludong’s special taste and aroma.

The Ludong is commonly found in the Cagayan Valley region which is in the northernmost part of the Philippines and along the Pacific Ocean. The Cagayan Valley region is the best known habitation of the Ludong in the world.

This fish was once believed to be a yearly gift from a river goddess to the Ibanags, the native people who live by the Cagayan River.

The Ludong is endangered because of its prized value and may soon become extinct. The more rare it becomes, the more expensive it gets. The Philippine Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR) reported that from 2002 to 2003, no Ludong were caught at all. Poachers are being paid in advance to get the fish when they are spawning, giving the poor mature Ludong less time to breed.

The weight of the Ludong these days is getting smaller, only less than 10 ounces compared to 5.5 pounds just a few years ago.

The Philippine BFAR has imposed a 5 years ban on the fishing of Ludong. They are also experimenting on breeding the valuable food fish in captivity, and educating the local people on the need and value to preserve it.

(Image source)




Sources: https://news.abrenian.com/2011/11/28/special-report-conserving-the-presidents-fish/ http://www.localpulse.net/facebook-popular/meet-expensive-fish-ph-p5000-kilo-4065/



Follow me as @darthnava: "You have steemed me up for the last time.”

Sort:  

That one looks pregnant to me! Double the price!

He he, you really know to look at fish.

Where we live, all the fresh fish catch comes right past our house each morning. Honestly though, I have never seen this fish before.

I think it is not native in your area.

Thanks, I will be on the lookout for this bad boy!

ang sarap nyan pretohin at gawing sinigang tol @darthnava,,Upvoted

Naka-kain ka na ba nito? Suwerte mo pala. Ako wala pa. Wala sa amin dito sa Mindanao.

If you want to awwe and oh!
I tell you , you have to go
to @darthnava, very true
He got the best posts for you
learn about cats, dogs, guns, fish and more
learning is what steemit is for
and @darthnava writes in a very great way
I visit him almost every day!


Thank you so much for following and supporting me. This is my Christmas present for you :)

Awesome hudge fish by the way!

Thanks a lot, lady! Merry Christmas and may God Bless you!

wow interesting information indeed, honestly i never heard about that fish before but today after reading your post i came to know about it and i think it might be the most expensive fish in the world too because 1kg = 100usd is a lot of money, it looks so healthy and i hope it also tastes delicious, thanks for sharing this info with us, Stay awesome.

Hey, thanks a lot for dropping by!

It is one of the favourite fish in Bangladesh.
It's price 220tk ($2.9 USD) per kilogram.
Thanks @darthnava for share this nice blog.

i'm a filipina also but i never heard it about "ludong" exist...thanks for the addition of my knowledge. hehehe.

I Never tasted it too!

big thank you @darthnava for the support. someone like you made me inspired here in steemit.

I was searching for different food to share.. I mean resteem since I am not blogging much and I stumbled upon your post. Never we had such expensive fish in the Philippines. Have you tasted this one?

Unfortunately, no. I am not that rich. Most expensive fish I tasted was lapu-lapu or blue marlin.

...i dont know much of the fish until these post of you sir @darthnava
..good thing BFAR acted and addresses the concern about its situation.

Yes, it would be a big shame if this fish goes extinct.

I just hope that BFAR would continue to ban the fishing of this valuable marine life resource for our future children. I am also sad that I may not be able to get to taste the "Banak" in my lifetime but only wishes that the fish would soon recover from being over-fished.

Yes, I hope the fish population recover so I could have a chance to eat it too.

i don't really know the price of the fish since I don' buy them. my wife do, hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60795.60
ETH 2627.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58