Food Glorious Food! Frugal Living - 🍽️Delicious Food on a Budget🍽️ - Toad In The Hole -

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Toad In The Hole - Frugal Living & Delicious Food on a Budget 💷


After visiting one of the many Discord severs this morning that I belong to, I crashed in on a conversation about food and recipes, so thought I'd write a quick blog post about a great British favourite of ours Toad In The Hole!


U5duGEBM7mNB71Dz6ZWdFYPEgV7eZZG_1680x8400.jpeg


We've been living the #frugal #life for the past 6 months now, after deciding that we were spending far too much of our hard earned cash on overly expensive food, from rip off supermarkets and local shops.


I love to cook, and am the head-chef in our house as well as doing the wekkly 'Friday Big Shop' at Aldi. I work full time at a Special Educational Needs school during the week, and rarely get a chance to muster something yummy up of an evening, but I always cook for my little family on a Sunday.


DQmQ5qZxipnLKuPJzcz3T2wbsHF2dazjtgfTiTvVREfTS7i_1680x8400.png

Source


A firm favourite that I cook as voted for by my better half and my kids, is the good ole' British favourite
'Toad In The Hole'

Now, to my non-British cousins here, this meal possibly sounds like a weird dish that 'The Twits' would make! But rest assured, it's a delicious and bellyfilling experience that you need to try.


DQmXsr7sgamBbEA1mDNXGXvJ44rRtaJa1jkyZ7q3cAWotGR.png

Source


Here's the ingredients and method for you to try, they are loads of recipes online, but I've adapted my own and it works a treat every time! so trust me folks!

Cost breakdown - In GBP ££
All In Ingredients are from Aldi -

8 Cumberland Sausages (72% pork) - £1.39
Plain Flour - 45p 2kg (bulk buy which lasts for weeks)
6 Large Free range Eggs - 89p
Olive Oil - 1l - £2.29
Semi-Skimmed Milk 6 pint - £1.48 (best to buy a large jug in our house @meesterboom
Salt and Pepper - £1.00 together

Preparation time -30 mins to 1 hour

Cooking time - 30 mins to 1 hour

Serves - 2 children & 2 Adults

Preheat your oven to 200C/400F/Gas 6.
The hotter the better, which will really help that batter rise!

You will need this equipment

A rectangular glass oven dish (I find that the batter doesn't stick as much with these)
Weighing scales
a whisk
a measuring Jug with ml/fl oz
And a preheated oven at 200c/400f (Moderatley hot)

Ingredients -

4 eggs
140g/5oz - Plain flour
200ml/7fl oz - Semi- skimmed milk
1 pinch of - Salt and Ground black pepper
8 good quality - Pork sausages
3 tbsp - Olive oil

Optional extra - Dried Mixed herbs and onions.

Method

Here's how to make the batter - sift the plain flour into a large mixing bowl, then add the salt and pepper for seasoning.
Make a well in the centre of the flour and crack in the eggs.


IMG_20180415_105215.jpg


Using a wooden spoon, gradually beat the eggs into the flour then slowly beat in the milk until the batter is the consistency of double cream.


IMG_20180415_105418.jpg


Stir in the mixed herbs, cover and leave to stand for 30 minutes.
Place the sauasages in the dish, drizzle with olive oil and pop into the preheated oven for 10 minutes.
I like to prick holes in them to let the fat out, this will help with the non-sticking process.
Pour the batter over the hot sausages in the oven dish and Immediately return to the oven and cook for 35-40 minutes or until well-risen and golden-brown.


U5dtxz1q1gqvDYSWjPwiCUX3nYWw6cg_1680x8400.jpeg


I like serve it with diffent veg each week so today I chose some delicious new potatoes and garden peas, with thick good ole' Bisto Best gravy!
I also like some hot English mustard on the side for the sausages and mint sauce on the peas.


U5duGEBM7mNB71Dz6ZWdFYPEgV7eZZG_1680x8400.jpeg


Straight from the oven! the aromas are mouthwaterngly incredible...I bet you wish you had smellavision!

U5dtF2gNLByVjfrL3Exjxhrz2RSNPkQ_1680x8400.jpeg


ENJOY!!!


I hope you enjoyed my very first cooking blog post, and that you're rushing off to the kitchen right now to cook up this classic 'Great British' favourite!

Happy cooking and eating folks

Kindest

Sort:  

I've never heard of Toad In The Hole before! But after reading the instructions... yeah... I'll be adding this to my recipes to make list. I am all about comfort foods, cooking and baking from scratch, so this is a perfect one for this weekend; ice storm here with sleet now- yay <--- sarcasm

For your first cooking post, you did a bang up job!!!

Bon Appetit

Thanks for dropping in and checking out my post! It's a simple wholesome dish that's ready in no time at all!
Cheers for the compliment too!

Oh my! Well I really miss the great British classics living here in Mexico. This looks delicious! I might just whip up some Yorkshire pudding this weekend. My friend just got back from England and brought me a new Bisto gravy granules over 😁

Hey! Oh wow! I'm so glad you liked my food post! One of my favourites to cook! My kids love Yorkshire pudding! Dipped in Bisto is a must!

Of course!! I love Bisto and Yorkshires says the the Yorkshire lass! 😂

Ah you're from Yorkshire? Bit warmer in Cancun huh?I'm in Derbyshire and it's warmed up lovely today! 22c

Harrogate orignially (yes the posh part of Yorkshire) but I've been living here for 12yrs now so I'm pretty much Mexican! Lol 22C I would freekin freeze to death! 😂 It's about 30C here today and its only morning.

Hi! Saw you post this link on NYC and came to visit you.

Looks delicious 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94