You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Canning Leftovers For Emergency Food

in #food7 years ago

I have a pressure cooker..but to scared to use it. My Grandmother had one blow up in her face...
Can't wait for my veges to grow though, from the seeds we keep too :-)

Sort:  

Hi @dardi, I was scared too, my Grandma gardened and canned but never had an accident like your Grandma. They just look and sound scary to me, but after canning 300 quarts during the harvest season I overcame my fear. I love building seed banks... <3

Lol..there's hope for me yet! :-)
We don't have a huge yard and are busting to buy some acres..Hubby keeps making another vege patch, then another lol..the kiddies still need somewhere to play hehe..
I also bulk buy when I can..and blanch and freeze vege, but I reckon they last longer in jars..must brave that pressure cooker!! Lol.. Great post by the way, thanks :-)

You are welcome @dardi, and nice to meet you. I am going to follow you...not stalker like though, don't worry...hahaha If electrical goes out you will not have to worry about your food going bad when you can your food!

Nice to meet you too @reddust , following you too lol..
Too true, I hate waste. When it can be turned into something else...It also comes in handy when finances get low :-) If power goes out, thankfully I have a solar setup in our caravan, and free power running the fridge :-)

I want some backup solar panels, I have a gas generator but solar is next on my list of big spending items!

Same..we just moved back into our house (6 months ago) after living in our self sufficient caravan for 2 years travelling around Australia free camping..I want to get rid of the power bills and have our house on solar/batteries. We even have a little wind turbine :-) compliments the solar as the sun doesn't shine 24/7 :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47