Apple-Lemon Tea

in #food7 years ago (edited)

‘Tis the season to be jolly... and getting sick.. achoo! The first snow of the season and a warm cup of your favorite hot beverage - can life get any better than this?

My go-to drink for winters (and all year round if I am being honest) is coffee because nothing gives you that boost you need in the a.m. quite like the morning cup of joe. If only I could drink it 6-7 times a day (which I crave and can’t because if I drink over 2 cups of coffee I get a nasty headache).

So instead I sip hot chocolate when I start craving a warm cuppa but wait... all those calories in it... eek! Not good at all when you are trying to lose weight, eh? Sigh! Why must all good things come with so many calories?

That’s where today’s recipe comes in handy folks! Apple-Lemon Tea is officially my new favorite drink this winter. Its a relatively new obsession as I recently stumbled upon this liquid gold. My friend made it for me a few weeks ago when I was down with flu and sneezing uncontrollably. The taste isn't the only thing that makes it so wonderful, it has at least a dozen health benefits like; it boosts immunity, cures headaches, helps you lose weight, expels toxins out of your body, rich in antioxidants, blood & cholesterol stabilizer. The recipe is very flexible so you can omit or add ingredients of your choice.

images.png

To make this tea you'll need:

Water 3-4 cups
2 Apple (cut into wedges)
1 Lemon (thinly sliced)
1-2 Cloves
1 cinnamon stick
Star anise (optional)
Mint leaves (optional)
Black tea or green tea for some caffeine kick (optional)
Honey or any other sweetener of your choice

Add cinnamon, apples, mint leaves, cloves, and lemons to water and bring to a boil. Lower the heat and let it simmer for 15-20 minutes. Once ready, using a strainer pour the tea into serving mugs and add a sweetener of your choice. Now you can either drink the tea as is or if you are a caffeine addict like me you can put a black tea bag or green tea bag in the cup for some caffeine fix.

-- You can enjoy this refreshing drink as iced tea in summers. Just let the mixture cool down to room temperature add some ice cubes and enjoy!

Please don't forget to upvote if you liked it and can't wait to try it! :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @dannnielli! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57324.42
ETH 3010.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36