My Ultimate Winter Comfort Food

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Carrot pudding is a great comfort food to beat the winter blues and lift up your mood. Carrots are a good source of Vitamin A. It also contains Vitamin B6, Vitamin C, Magnesium and Potassium. They are not only rich in fibre but also antioxidants which means it helps our body in numerous ways such as; improved vision, reduced signs of premature aging, maintaining healthy blood pressure and promoting healthy skin.

Whenever I feel lazy I usually just roast up some carrots along with some other vegetables or simply just steam them to get my daily fix of vegetables but at least once in a fortnight I whip up this dessert and store it in the refrigerator to eat for the rest of the week or so. It can be enjoyed as a dessert (pretty obvious!) or.. wait for it.. as lunch or breakfast! Its loaded with carrots so its basically a healthy veggie meal, right? When I don't have time to make breakfast I just reheat some of this pudding and enjoy it with my morning cup of joe.

To make this pudding you'll need:

12-15 medium sized grated carrots
1 cup sugar
4-6 green cardamom seeds
1/2 full fat powdered milk
1/2 cup clarified butter
4 tbsp of milk

Spread grated carrots in a big shallow pan and cook until soft and most of the water from the carrots dries up (about 6-8 minutes). In a wok, heat the clarified butter and add green cardamom seeds and cook for a minute or until fragrant. Add sugar and cook for about 3-4 minutes stirring occasionally. Add milk carrots and powdered milk and cook till the water dries up completely and oil starts separating from the carrots. Garnish with almonds, pistachios and raisins. Can be served hot or cold.

Gajar_halwa_(Carrot_Fudge)_India_Sweets_April_2013.jpg

This dish is a winter staple in my household and my whole family enjoys it as much as I do and it is super easy to make! If you have been following my posts you might know by now that I am a very lazy person and all my favorite foods to eat and cook are ones which require little or no effort at all! :D If you liked this recipe please upvote! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.39
ETH 3336.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70