*Intuitive Eating

in #food7 years ago

I'd like to argue in favor of fueling ourselves via *Intuitive Eating. I've put the asterisk there on purpose, as I'll explain throughout this piece.


The field of nutrition contains some of the most convoluted science there is. Individuals vary greatly in terms of how they respond to different diets. This means that the results of research trials- well conducted though they may be- differ. Additionally, the fitness industry and tabloid journalists like to latch on to these studies' conclusions. They do so before repeat studies are conducted, and they extrapolate. Scientists are meticulous about stating exactly what the research showed them. They specify correlation vs. causation. The media does NOT. They promote dietary practices with bold and unfounded claims. They'll cite the studies, sure. But it is up to a critical consumer to read them and exercise caution in generalizing results. Side note, Sigma Nutrition Radio is a GREAT podcast. There is a fascinating episode about Nutrigenomics (the influence of genetic makeup on how individuals respond to nutrients) The link is here: https://sigmanutrition.com/episode110/

My point is this- with a bevy of contradictory results and inflammatory media, how DO we fuel ourselves? What is considered healthy eating? I stand in passionate support of crafting an educated intuition about our individual bodies. Before we can intuit what our bodies need, we need to become fluent in their language. This means gaining a basic understanding of physiology. It means learning how different nutrients and activities affect body systems. Once this becomes part of our knowledge network, we are far better equipped to interpret body signals. We are also vastly more likely to respond to them in beneficial ways.

For example, all we know after a bout of intense exertion is that we are HUNGRY. We feel acute glycogen deprivation, and are driven to seek lots of calories quickly. This craving could lead us to eat whatever is closest by, in large quantities. However, our knowledge base tells us that we need carbohydrates and protein (ideally in a 3:1 ratio). It also informs us that micronutrients are most easily digested from whole food sources (unprocessed food, rather than supplements). We can use this information to craft a post- workout meal that satisfies both our raw hunger and underlying needs.

Regardless of bullshit running rampant, there are nutrition principles that have held up over time and trial.

I recommend using a method called n=1 to determine what sort of eating best suits your body. I learned about this method in another Sigma Nutrition podcast: https://sigmanutrition.com/episode94/. Science has yet to discover an ideal diet, even after dedicating brilliant minds and many years to the cause. This is partially because we all respond differently to food. Regardless of how large a study's sample size was, it did not include you. This means that the data might apply to you, and it might not. So try it out, if it appeals to you. Find out if you do better eating a high fat diet, or if taking B12 supplements feels beneficial. Conduct studies in which n=1, where YOU are the only subject.


The results will be individual and personal, relevant only to you. It is through experimentation that we discover how to best take care of ourselves. I so recommend trying this if you experience any health trouble. Sleep, digestion, skin clarity, energy... Nutrition can impact all of these and more. So, do some research. Find out what the empirical data is, and see if it applies to you. It is an investment of time, but oh is it worth it.

Sort:  

I think that there are tools to renormalize ourselves into being able fulfill a healthy intuit. However, I think that the thing that makes intuitive eating, if not living sort of difficult is that our individual histories have quietly conditioned us ~ ~ ~ I grew up on frozen lasagna and I remember having my Italian friend mom's homemade lasagna one night and I was disappointed because I preferred my frozen lasagna so much more... Crazy, right???Researchers have shown that this preference for seeking a habitualized normalcy due to a subjective personal history is wide-spread.

What I most agree with in your article is that we must listen to our intuition when it comes to satiety (feeling full)

I think that no matter what diet ~ non-diet or in between one decides ~ they should always eat until comfortably full. I also believe that strong scientific studies are really starting to add up one after another to make a strong evidence based case for at least limiting certain food groups. My favorite website that presents the latest nutrition research in short videos and articles is www.nutritionfacts.org

Thanks, MUM

Wow, I so appreciate this dialogue. I agree as well! There is an excellent book called First Bite that talks about how our eating habits are constructed and influenced over time. (on an individual and species level) I'm heading over to the website you mentioned now! Sending you light.

Thanks @danigirl I am following you now ~!~ <3 @mummedia

~MUM~

Great post! I've found that logging what I eat really helps me find out what works best for me over time. I've been using MyFitnessPal to log everything I eat for almost two years straight, and I've learned that my body responds best to high protein/low carb eating. I am not very strict about what I eat - if I feel like eating carbs, I eat them - but I found that keeping a focus on overall macros, for me, really helps control my energy levels and my weight. The effort is definitely worth it! :)

Thank you so much for contributing to a discussion :) I've seen people benefit greatly from MFP. For myself though, I believe I would become too perfectionist and number- obsessed for it to be a healthy practice. I do think that it is an amazing tool to help people understand the macro composition of their food. I'm so glad you've found a way of eating that works for ya!

Thank you for your reply! :) as with anything, moderation can be an effective strategy. Like you, I can get obsessed with the numbers, but I've found that over time it evolved into guidelines rather than absolutes. Everyone can find a strategy that works for them if they're willing to put in a little effort. I have no problem eating/treating myself to the occasional cheat meals because I know the vast majority of my diet is healthy. The bonus is that I don't fee guilty or worry about sub-optimal food choices because they make up such a small fraction of my total energy intake. maybe I should do a post on my typical daily food in addition to my workouts... :)

I'd read the post if you did!

Alrighty then - I shall do it then! It'll either go up tomorrow night or this weekend, depending on my schedule. Thanks for the upvotes and stay tuned! :)

@danigirl right now I am on paleo and I'm feeling great! I agree that it's good to test few diets and see how body with react :)
If you have a moment please review my beetroot soup recipe that I think may be interesting to you. It’s the best dish in the summertime and it's very healthy :) Cheers!

Ooo, enjoy that! I have several family members who stick to paleo and love how it makes them feel. Heading to your page now to check out the recipe!

Congratulations @danigirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61