Sopas

in #food6 years ago

sopas1.jpg

Like Many dishes, it is not clear where we got Sopas from. Some say it's from the Chinese, while others are more inclined to say it was influenced by westerners. It is said that Sopas came from the word soup, and is a variation the America's Chicken Soup.

My first encounter with this dish was at Red's home, on Christmas Eve. Apparently, sopas is something that the Tagalogs love to serve on Christmas Day. I'm guessing it's because December always brought a cooler climate (this is before climate change) and sopas is just pure delight on cold weather. It's been raining almost non-stop here in the Philippines. The sun is nowhere to be found and the cold rough winds have been our constant companion day in and out, so I thought of preparing the dish even though Christmas is still months away.

20180716_175451.jpg
What I Used: Chicken, Hotdogs, Garlic, Onion, Carrots, Cabbage, Bell Pepper, Small Shell Pasta, Chicken, Chicken Bullion, Evaporated Milk, Salt and Pepper to taste

20180716_173839.jpg
What I Do: In a pot, combine whole chicken breast, garlic, salt, and water. Cook over medium heat until meat is tender. Separate chicken from stock, and flake once cool. Set aside both aside
20180716_195147.jpg

In a large soup pot, heat oil over medium fire and saute sliced hotdogs. Set aside. Saute garlic, onion, bell pepper, and carrots. Add flaked chicken and hotdog. Stir for about 2 minutes then add chicken stock and let boil. Add chicken bullion. Put in small shell pasta and let cook for 10 minutes, stirring every now and then. Add cabbage. Pour in evaporated milk, cover and turn off heat.
sopas2.jpg

Add salt and pepper to taste. Transfer to a serving bowl and serve hot on a cold rainy day

All photos are mine, taken using a Samsung S7 Edge camera phone


footer3.gif

footer2.png

footer.jpg

Sort:  

My sister used to cook this almost every new year or chistmas when I was younger that's why these days, seeing sopas or eating it reminds me of those happy occassions. Your sopas reminds me again of that time, thank you.

Posted using Partiko Android

ginutom na nman tuloy ako.. masarap na sopas..

yummy sopas sis.
send me some here!!
miss you. God bless your family always xoxo

sana makapunta ako sa Andalusia sis tapos luluto tayo sa kusina mo. I miss you! God bless you and your beautiful fam sis!!!

Come and Join the @steem-mom slambook.


Click image

@dandalion I love your sopas recipe!!! Would love to make one for my blog and also I'm looking for more of Philippine delicacies and dishes so I can share it here. OMG I miss Manila just by looking at your sopas post! Very glad to see a fellow pinay steemian here. I'm interested to know about the steemit PH curation project. Would love to be a part. Definitely followed and see you around Sis! Ingat! :-)

This Sopas looks tasty! Yeah! It would be great to serve it on a cold rainy day indeed.

In Thailand, it rains almost everyday, too. I'll cook it by myself here....

Thanks so much for sharing your recipe. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54337.36
ETH 2271.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32