Thanksgiving Turkey Plating

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2842.JPG

Each year at Thanksgiving, I try to think of new ways to plate our turkey. I always carve prior to presenting the turkey. I my home, we don't usually cook a whole turkey - just whole turkey breasts on the bone. After cooking, the breasts are removed from the bone and then sliced. I try to plate the turkey in a way that is appetizing and introduces color, and doesn't take too long. Removing the breast and then slicing ensures that each slice has skin, which has a tremendous amount of flavor. It also looks gorgeous, and to me, is a better way to present.

IMG_2841.JPG

I have plated with different types of lettuce, also using things like cranberries or cherries to introduce a splash of red. The type of dish you plate in matters as well. I like plating in a dish like this, or even in cast iron that is slightly warmed. It looks great, and it keeps the turkey warm. In this photo, I plated in a hand-forged carbon steel pan from Christ Centered Ironworks

However you plate, break outside of the norm this year and do something creative!!

IMG_2843.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @culinaryfanatic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That looks good and actually more convenient in many ways than having a whole roasted bird on the table. Less upsetting for vegetarians which I am one but I cook meat and fowl for family sometimes 😂
Following you

Have a beautiful day
Namaste

Thanksgiving in our home gets pretty interesting. My daughter is a vegan. My wife joined her this year. So, we will have a good mix of foods at Thanksgiving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52