Potato Pancakes in a Cast Iron Æbleskive Pan

in #food7 years ago (edited)

potato_puff_01.jpg

In my quest to find alternative uses for my æbleskive pans, I tried making vegan potato pancakes in them. Me and my wife are on a 30-day vegan diet, so I am in search of new things to try. My recipe needs MUCH improvement, but the method is solid. I found that cooking these was more like cooking takoyaki than æbleskiver.

potato_puff_02.jpg

They were definitely more challenging. But as with takoyaki, they rounded out nicely in the end. These are basically shredded potatoes mixed with a batter. The egg was definitely missed, so I have to find a substitute. I am sure my daughter, Kristen, who has been a vegan for almost two years will have some ideas. I want the batter to be light so that these can be more like a round, fried hash brown than a potato pancake. I really just want the batter to be kind of a binder for the potatoes. Anyway, after being stuck indoors for two days because of Irma, I needed something to tinker with. I will post the final recipe once it is perfected.

potato_puff_03.jpg

potato_puff_04.jpg

potato_puff_05.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52