The brave drivers that bring us food

in #food8 years ago

We all love the days when we are tired and we don’t want to get up cook dinner, and the days when we don’t even want to leave our house to go get food. So what is the option? Delivery. What an amazing concept of having fresh hot food delivered to your house and you can stay in your pajamas and walk just feet to the front door to get it. One word: Amazing.

More and smaller start-up companies are coming and bringing you more than just pizza and sandwiches. Even more of a convenience and diverse selection of food. I begin to wonder, will restaurants even need waiters and tables anymore? Nah. So the big question is, what do you tip your driver? Yes, they are bringing your food to you, but how much of an interaction due you truly have with your driver? Maybe like 3 seconds? Maybe a little bit more?

What to consider when you are tipping your driver: what was the weather like? Being a driver over the last few years, it is no fun driving in the rain and snow, better yet, dealing with the idiots in which I deal with. For example, I was getting an order yesterday and doing the mad dash back to my car because a huge rain storm had come through the city, to where it was flash flooding. As I have the food,  I come around the car and a car is driving towards me and there is a river below my feet. As this is happening, I see it before my eyes, I have gone from being rained on to looking at the point that I had just gone swimming. All to deliver food. 

Granted the guy tipped me decently, around 6 bucks, but granted if it had been two, it would have been pissed. He still got his food and he didn’t have to brave the crappy weather that came through. The weather was so crappy that three people were struck by lightning. 

What I ask of you, next time you want the convenience of food being delivered, tip your driver more than 2 bucks. Your driver will love you and take extra care of your food. And of course, that driver will pay it forward and the world will be a happier and fuller place.


Sort:  

Shout out to CO just because it is awesome and legal to smoke pot does not mean we should be tipping drivers that way either . Yes on one had some will enjoy it and love you for it but on the other if bills are not being met then paying in pot really doesn't help their situation that they are in unknowing to you. So do tip your drivers but also be kind enough to think about how your efforts are going to help them achieve their goals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49