Dear Diary: I Enjoyed Some Sustenance This Morning

in #food7 years ago (edited)

P_20180218_115153.jpg

I personally call this my Bread pod

This is just called a "Kamatsile" in my language but English speakers call it a Manila Tamarind which actually is not native from manila nor it is a Tamarind. It is a bean pod where the pods make this white firm sometimes sweet and sometimes a little acrid flesh that surrounds the black seed.

It is sweet when very mature and goes very soft and juicy if picked in its perfect mature state. These ones are not quite very mature enough and actually not really ripe enough but it is hard to pick the ones that are really ripe because the birds and the bats if not the worms could get first unto them. Plus the ripe pods would be so blown out after being so ripe as they get big and rupture their own pod skins.

My grandmother told me that she was the one that planted the trees where we once get our free Kamatsile treats. Today those same trees are owned now by the people who claimed the land where the trees were planted as they had put enclosure around it because those trees were planted at the river dike where my grandfather also worked to develop.

But most of those trees are free to get some pods from because kids make money out of them and sell it to buyers like my mother so I could get to taste them once again.

P_20180218_100346.jpg

This is just a boiled sweet potato. Very good to eat if you do not have much food to eat. Iit provides a good carbohydrates and vitamin A and quite delicious. I just missed the orange variety with a plump and succulent vine and leaves because the varieties that I see today have a much thinner vine and a relatively tougher stem and leaves.

I also like this tuber as fried as well with a sugar dip and together with your favorite drink it is a great food that will give you energy but of course we need some variety with our diets and carbs alone won't be sufficient enough for our nutritional needs as we also need some protein, fats, and minerals.

Sort:  

your bread pod to see very yammy and delicious.its really healthy for health. what,s taste this food?take care of yourself.thank u very much for ur good post sharing of food.my dear friend... @cryptopie

Wow. It looking yummy. 😊 . I think I had ever saw this but now I forgotten. Hope you had enjoyed it a lot.

Manila tamarind sounds different because the tamarind family which we find in our country doesn't tastes completely sweet though it is completely ripen . I'm glad that your thoughts are different now and mainly switching into other topics would somewhat decrease the pain you get . Thanks for sharing the food , enjoy your day :)

Haven't tasted "kamatsile". I love sweet potatoes too. :)
image.jpeg

My neighbor many years ago planted sweet potatoes in his yard in the soil that no plants have ever grown or planted yet , he tilled the soil and planted sweet potato vines. They got some full sunshine and he gives them water every day. Guess what? The potatoes grew big just like as big as that you are holding @pinay .

Oh I love planting sweet potatoes since I was a kid but I never water them (haha) they can grow even if we just throw them. Did you know I eat raw sweet potato when I was a kid hahaha (parang batang patay gutom) :-D

I remember my friend who works in Saudi she missed "talbos camote", she bought sweet potato roots and put in an empty plastic of 1.5 liter coke (she cut it) with water, they grow too so she was very happy and cooked its leaves :-D

I really am frustrated not able to plant anymore, I also planted vegetables before including a yam tuber in a sack of sandy soil, more sand than soil then I let it creep to a tall Santol tree where it got its sunshine. Below I water it just to make the sack moist. The Yam tubers really grew big too after a year. I harvested 4 and a half kilo in one yam tuber alone.
I never had gotten that repeated because my father who is hack-happy fell the santol tree later.

BTW, camote tops really is yummy in sinigang especially in shrimp sinigang.

Oh I haven't tried it in shrimp. I love it in fish "kusido" and we eat it almost everyday. 😂
image.jpeg

your Bread pod it looking yummy, deliciouse & healthy thanks for sharing your products in this community keep it up
I wish i will try to made this bread pod.😊

Hellow friend ...how was your nigh? Hope you slept well. Fruits general have great use Nd importNce to the body. I already knew about potatoe but the tamariind,whTs is the use? HAPPY SUNDAY TO YOU! MORE OF GOD GRACE!

sweet potato, sugar, and milk! @crytopie...
have a nice day!

This looks very enticing, i never knew of this fruit.

Delicious. I had no idea these existed. Thank you for sharing.

You really enjoying my friend....Just keep eating good food so you get better fast @cryptopie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62716.82
ETH 2447.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65