Eating the best Beigels in London! Yummy!

in #food6 years ago

P_20180227_184350_vHDR_On.jpg

Today I was in one of my favorite areas of London, Brick Lane. It's a very nice neighborhood, full of vintage shops, clubs, bars and street art.

Walking around, all of a sudden I notice a group of people all lined up to enter this Beigel shop, the 'Beigel Bake'.

P_20180304_150844_vHDR_On.jpg
I read and heard a lot about this place, especially from locals, and having never tried it before, I could not resist stopping and lining up.

The Beigel Bake is open 24 hours, and serves since 1974 beigels to the people of London, cooked according to the Jewish tradition.

P_20180304_150904_vHDR_On.jpg
Upon entering, I noticed that the prices were very cheap, at least compared to the London average. The menu focuses clearly on beigels, with fillings such as salmon, cheese cream, herring, or the most famous, with the salt beef; but they also serve Danish rolls and various type of cakes.

After almost twenty minutes of waiting, my turn finally arrives. I choose the most typical beigel of the house, the one stuffed with salt beef, pickles and mustard.
W O W . Just W O W.
A truly memorable taste and consistency.
The meat was fresh, and tasted amazing. But the highlight is certainly beigel, the best I've ever tried, certainly. Its uniqueness derives also from the fact that it is boiled before being cooked, and incredibly soft and chewy. The amount of meat inside, is nothing short of RIDICOLOUS. I had to open my mouth as much as I could to give the first bite. But it was worth it.
Having been served by the elderly lady, the historic owner of the restaurant, gave a touch of magic of pure tradition to the experience.
I left satisfied, with a full stomach, and two take-away beigels for my breakfast tomorrow, and having spent only 5 pounds!
I really felt the pulses of popular culinary tradition inside the 'Beigel Bake', and I will definitely come back to try the other beigels in the menu.
If you go to London, come here and lose a few minutes to queue up. You won't be disappointed!

Sort:  

Yep, they were for real!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65