You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What do Baked Ham w/ Pineapple, Eggs Benedict, and Mushrooms All Have in Common?

in #food6 years ago

I'm loving all these recipes. Not a fan of pineapples or eggs, but the mushroom is something I might try because I like mushrooms and pickled stuff. Bonus that it has apple cider vinegar, since I've been trying to get more of that into my diet.

The only downside is I haven't seen that specific type of mushroom anywhere. Any idea what could replace that?

Sort:  

Thank you, I'm glad you're enjoying them! ACV is some amazing stuff. Especially Braggs - I have it every morning with my Emergen-C to start the day off right.

I had to do some research on your question but found a pretty awesome page with a ton of substitutions for various mushroom types over at FoodSubs.com. They recommend cremini, porcini, portobello, or shiitake as substitutions for the robust chicken of the woods.

Another site I found has specific pickling directions with other mushroom recommendations that might be of interest as well. It's Timed Eating from the UK and they seem to be fond of girolles for pickling and list off a bunch I'd like to learn about.

I hope this helps! 🍄

Thanks for taking the time to answer my question. And I mean really answering. I'm keeping this recipe next time I get my hands on some shiitake mushrooms, then. And yes, Braggs ACV is a great way to start the day. I take mine with lemon juice and cold water.

You are very welcome! I'd love to hear how they turn out.

I used to take mine like that, with a little local honey. Now I use it to dissolve the Emergen-C (which it does beautifully!), and the orange flavor softens the tartness of the ACV.

I don't think I can get my hands on mushrooms anytime soon, so I'll just keep this recipe handy until then.

Also, I just got myself a share of Steem Basic Income, I didn't know who to sponsor, so I sponsored you. Let me know how that works out. I'm not sure how it works myself.

Oh my goodness that is so cool! I just recently heard about that and put it on my list of things I needed to learn So, I can't honestly say I know exactly what it is but I can say I really appreciate the sponsor - thank you!!! 😃

They've got an overview of the program here:
https://steemit.com/basicincome/@steembasicincome/steem-basic-income-a-complete-overview

From what I understand, its a pool of SP used to upvote its members' blog posts. The more shares you have, the higher the value of upvote you'll get. It's also a pay it forward kind of initiative since every enrollment sponsors a share for someone else.

Thank you for the link; that explained it very well. Such an awesome idea! And thank you again for the sponsor. I shall repay the favor when my lowly plankton mutates into something larger! 😊

Sorry to jump in here @ambrosial. Hey @cryptocopy, I didn't see your comment on my page last week so I upvoted you here. ;)

Thanks! I really appreciate it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58889.18
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47