You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 Grilled Cheese Recipes You Never Thought Of (But Wish You Had!) #FoodHolidays

in #food6 years ago

Now I don't know about you, but when I want grilled cheese, I want it now!!

You've got a kindred spirit right here. If only I could have someone else prepare that Baker's Dozen Grilled Cheese Sandwich in advance. I've tried using 3 cheeses, including cream cheese, on my sandwiches before and it turned out great, but this recipe just takes it to top. And its prepared with mustard and cajun seasoning too. Great flavors all around.

Sort:  

Yeah, when I get hit with a grilled cheese craving the last thing I want to do is a bunch of cooking and not have it for an hour! I do add multiple cheeses most of the time and sometimes sliced tomato or pickles to switch things up.

But that one looks phenomenal. I'm planning on actually making that for dinner soon with a side salad. I figure that way I'll actually do it because I know it'll never happen during a cheese craving 😋 I also think I'm going to use my homemade creole with chipotle powder instead of the Cajun; give it a nice smokey flavor with a bit of spice.

Great, now I'm hungry! Lol thank you for stopping by and commenting.

I'm back to say that I tried the Baker's Dozen recipe for Sunday dinner and it was amazing. I had to make some changes since I didn't have Monterrey Jack and Gouda on hand and I'm trying to cut back on sugar, so I used less of the sweet stuff. But, it still turned out great.

Keep these recipes coming!

Oh really, that's awesome!! Thank you for stopping back by to let me know - too cool of you!

Did you leave out the cane syrup? When I saw the recipe that was the first thing I figured I would change. (I can't follow recipes word for word to save my life. It just cannot be done.)😁

I'd love to hear what cheeses you used instead and if it really took an hour!

It didn't take me an hour. Maybe just 30 mins? The longest part was cooking the onions and peppers. Though, maybe it was faster than expected cause I used low-medium heat, rather than just low heat. And I grated the cheese rather than slicing, so maybe that took less time to melt, too.

Cane sugar and syrup was another thing I didn't have so I just substituted muscovado sugar for both. I melted it with a little butter for the syrup. As for the cheeses, I used 2 kinds of cheddar from a pack of flavored cheddars I got recently. However, I must say, it really was the cream cheese that stood out. I think, I could've made it with other cheeses and it would still be good.

Haha an impatient one like myself lol. It sounds like it was delicious. You can never go wrong with cheddar, and I imagine that with the cream cheese complemented one another perfectly.

Thank you for taking the time to let me know...I really want to make it now. 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32