Quick healthy vegetarian meal

in #food6 years ago

2018-05-06 14.35.02.jpg

What exactly is that!

Brown rice, some veggies and plain yogurt.

I am not a big fan of cooking. I like to keep it simple, quick with little effort from me and something that's tasty when placed on my tongue. It is not an easy feat, so I end up experimenting.

How to make it

what you need

  • Pressure cooker (not necessity, but makes cooking easy)
  • brown rice
  • split green gram (moong dal, or use any lentil of choice)
  • carrots
  • peas
  • baby corn
  • any other veggie of choice. I like to add corn kernels, beans. You can add broccoli etc as well.
  • turmeric
  • ghee (clarified butter, can substitute with olive oil for vegans)
  • star anise (only for flavour, can be skipped)
  • tiny cinnamon stick (only for flavour, can be skipped)
  • bay leaf (only for flavour, can be skipped)
  • yogurt side (can be replaced with a sauce of choice by vegans)
  • salt to taste ( I use rock salt)

I use organic ingredients where possible and available easily, like rice, dal, spices, ghee, and some veggies.

I use hand pounded brown rice as I feel its easier on the stomach than complete brown rice coming from machines. I like to think that our ancestors used hand pounded rice, so I stick to that (no idea on any scientific merit).

cooking part

  • Add brown rice, dal, peas in a pressure cooker (or vessel used for boiling) and wash them thoroughly ( I am a little paranoid, so I wash everything thoroughly and repeat a few times).
  • now cut carrots and baby corn and veggie of choice (after washing each) and add to cooking vessel.
  • add sufficient water (brown rice needs more water to cook than regular white rice).
  • add turmeric, star anise, cinnamon stick, bay leaf and ghee (or olive oil).
  • close lid and boil. I use pressure cooker, and add enough water for 7 whistles.
    Once cooked, it looks like below.
    P_20180506_142305.jpg

The advantage with pressure cooker is that I can get back to work while I wait for the whistles to alert me on cooking stage. That way I am expending least effort to get my meal to table.

How to serve

  • Add the cooked dish to a plate spreading it evenly.
  • sprinkle salt to taste
  • serve with a side of yogurt or sauce of choice. I personally like to add yogurt on top and mix it with the preparation well, adjust salt again as yogurt is bland and may need a little extra salt.

What about dessert you say?

Of course there is dessert on the menu. Again, nothing fancy, but to my liking.
I love to finish my meal with 2 dates.
2018-05-06 15.22.36.jpg
These are Kimia dates from my local grocery store.

Please share feedback

Was it a healthy meal according to you?

What can I add to make it healthy

Share any variations you may try or have tried

Finally what's blockchain blogger doing , sharing cooking recipes?

I have been mostly blogging about blockchain, but even blockchain bloggers get hungry and have little time to cook. On some other day I may share a more extravagant recipe. I need to get back at analysing ICOs, so bye for now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70