Sourdough Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hello there friends! We've been busy trying to master a gluten free sourdough loaf and while we're still very much experimenting with it, we are on the right track. In the meanwhile, I've been making quite a few sourdough pancakes with the discarded starter. As yummy as they are, I wanted to branch out a bit so I found this detailed post about sourdough muffins!

Did you know you don't actually have to discard the 'Discarded Starter'? When I first started making sourdough, I remember thinking that was such a waste, so I just kept it in and kept adding more and more flour. I just didn't understand that the reason for discarding was because you need to feed the approptriate amount to your starter. (I also didn't realize you could use the it for so many different recipes!)

A larger starter would obviously need to be fed more, but I wasn't really perceiving it as "feeding" the starter. I was just thinking of growing the starter. Does that make sense? Now, to some of you Sourdough veterans, you're probably thinking, "Well, duh!" But I'm telling you, it only clicked with me when I started making this GF starter a few weeks ago. And as silly as it seems and as embarassed as I felt for not fully grasping it before, I'm sharing because if I didn't get it at first, maybe there are some of you out there in the same boat? Or maybe not and if that's the case, then let's all have a healthy chuckle at my expense, k?

So, back to the muffins! First of all, unlike most of my recipes, these are not gluten free. I had already made some GF vegan scones, so these muffins were for my non-allergic bunch. The original recipe does not call for chocolate chips, but come on, why not? They're mini so it's like they're not even there! Just a little pop of chocolatey-goodness and the calories are negligible. That's my story and I'm sticking to it! 😉

The recipe was quite large. I made 18 muffins and a loaf of bread! The @crowbarkids loved them and the hubby was pretty happy with them too. Thumbs up all around.

Recipe Notes

  • I added an extra egg because we're up to our eyeballs in eggs right now and hey-extra nutrients and protein is always good, right?

  • Also, I used half whole wheat starter, half teff starter and then added sprouted spelt flour and some potato starch for the flour portion of the recipe. I did end up adding nearly a cup more flour than what was called for in the recipe, but I believe my starter was wetter than what they used in the recipe. You may have to adjust yours as necessary.

Anyway, feel free to check out the very informative link here and let me know if you try any of these! I really want to make the chocolate zucchini muffins next.

I chose @Crowbarmama as a handle because I believe in doing the best you can with what you have on hand. The crowbar is a multi-purpose tool. You’ll notice my photography is a bit rough, my grammar is not the most polished, but as a homeschooling, homesteading mama of 4, if I waited to take my photos until the light was perfect or re-edited my posts a 5th time ( I shoot for 3 drafts), I would never get a post out!

Don’t sweat the small stuff, just Crowbar it!

If you like what you're reading, please upvote and subscribe! Also, I love feedback! Constructive criticism is one of the best ways to grow. I want to know what you think!

image.png

Sort:  

I know almost nothing about baking with sourdough starter, so this was very educational for me!

It's taken me a while to be comfortable to play with it and not stress about possibly wrecking and "wasting" anything.

Glad you got something out it! 😊

Yum! Those look and sound so tasty!! I'm sure that my kids would really like to have those. I need to try some banana bread again soon. It's been too long...and chocolate chips added!!! YUMMY!!

Thanks! Everything is better with chocolate chips, right? 😊

i'm gonna bet that you are gonna be let's say, rep 65 before the end of the year with this content you keep putting out, love it. keep it up! :)

Thank you! My challenge is keeping up daily! With 4 kiddos and the homesteading/homeschooling life there's not a lot of spare time! Lol.

But seriously, thank you.

4! wow, that's a lot of work yeah. bet it's quite difficult to grab a moment for yourself. i've always been blown away by super moms that can handle all that.

I WILL POST YOUR BLOG POST TO MY 35,000+ FOLLOWERS. SEND 0.5 SBD OR 0.5 STEEM TO a-0-0 WITH YOUR BLOG POST WEB PAGE ADDRESS IN THE MEMO.

Looking good :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.35
ETH 2687.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50