Georgie Porgie Pudding and PIE (Featuring Author @thegoldencookie)

in #food8 years ago

Hey Foodies!

Here is a sweet, creamy and heavenly on the pallet recipe just for you. One taste is never enough.

enter image description here

Today I thought I would share the wonders of my favorite cheesecake or rather Cottage cheese tart (it's a no bake cheesecake). I made this for Daniel for his birthday (like me he is not a cake person).

enter image description here

He decided he wanted an apricot cheesecake but the choice is really up to you.

Ingredients

Crust
For a coconut crust you will need:
200g / 625ml desiccated coconut
75g / 80ml butter/ margarine (melted)

For a cookie crust you will need:
1 packet (200g) Marie or Tennis biscuits (crushed)
75g/ 80ml butter/ margarine (melted)

Filling
125 ml condensed milk
30 ml lemon juice (I prefer mine to be more sour so I put in 45 ml)
1 tub (250g) smooth cottage cheese
125ml cream, whipped

Glaze
5ml gelatine
30ml water
125 ml smooth jam (your choice)
30ml sugar

Optional
If you prefer you can decorate the cheesecake with fresh fruit such as strawberries, grapes and apricots.

enter image description here

Method

If you choose a coconut crust

  • Toast the coconut in the oven or in a frying pan until golden brown (make sure not to burn).
  • Mix the coconut with the butter/ margarine well and use to line a pie dish, pressing the mixture firmly into the dish.
  • Refrigerate .

If you choose a cookie crust

  • mix the butter with the crushed biscuits well
  • Use to line pie dish, press mixture firmly into the dish
  • Refrigerate

Filling

  • Whip the cream until firm,
  • Add condensed milk and cottage cheese to the cream and mix until smooth
  • add the lemon juice and mix (the filling will be stiff but still runny.
  • pour the filling into the pie dish and smooth out
  • refrigerate for 15min

Glaze

  • pour the gelatine, water and sugar into a pot and bring to boil whilst stirring.
  • add the jam and stir until smooth.
  • gently pour the glaze over the filling
  • refrigerate until just before you serve.

enter image description here

During my time on Steemit I would occasionally post the recipes to some of my or my family's favorite meals or desserts. I will link those at the end of the post.

If you would like to see my other recipes please click on the link below:

Alfredo
https://steemit.com/food/@thegoldencookie/quick-delicious-meal-in-under-30-min

Orange Cake
https://steemit.com/life/@thegoldencookie/let-them-eat-cake-perfect-festive-recipe

Hope you enjoy. Until next time.

@thegoldencookie

@crazymymzysa features authors to promote new authors and a diversity of content. All STEEM Dollars for this post go to the featured author

Sort:  

What is the nice bottle of wine I see at the back there? )))

Hey @serejandmyself well it is a Woolworth's brand sparkling grape juice as Daniel and I aren't the biggest fans of wine. It is very tasty though

aaaaaahhhhhhhhhh ->o<- looks so yummy

;) Try making it tonight and let me know what you think. 8 )

Now that is some yummy looking cheesecake right there!!...gotta give that a go this weekend.

I suggest using a strawberry jam glaze. It is my personal favorite. Another tip is to leave the filling in the fridge over night it is easier to pour the hot glaze over without ending up with glaze in the pie.

Good luck. Let me know how it turns out :)

Looks absolutely amazing nice job....

It definitely tastes better than it looks. I highly recommend trying it. Please do let me know what you think when you do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43