Planting Mielies!!

in #food5 years ago

Hey everyone, only my South African mates here will know the meaning of this heading? What a South African word it certainly is. A 'mielie' is commonly known as what you folks would call corn, mielie sounds lekka, kapeesh?

20190909_164839.jpg

20190907_145548.jpg

Now for the next question, who knows the meaning of 'lekka' another South African favourite/multipurpose word meaning Awesome, magic, fantastic, super amazing wonderful etc!

20190907_145613.jpg

20190907_145554.jpg

So for the last week or two I have been planting a row of mielies every day or two. I buy my heirloom seeds on www.livingseeds.co.za. I know there are no lab grown nonsense in my seeds thanks to this wonderful supplier of whole clean seeds.. Giant Glass Corn ever heard of them? These are heirloom multicoloured corn nutritious and good which I have planted in these rows!

20190907_145608.jpg

Here I planted in my existing vegetable patch an array of chilli peppers, from Carolina reapers, To Kootingal Firecracker, I just can't wait for them to start bearing fruit too so that I may make myself some delicious Chilli Sauce!

20190909_123435.jpg

20190909_164914.jpg

I am very blessed in that the soil and compost we have made this season seems much better than last and after only around a week they have germinated and made their way though the soil. I am guessing around 2 months to harvest ? I can't wait, shall certainly blog the updates as and when they happen!

On the bottom right of this pic my Winter Potatoes, what a flop I only harvested three tiny spuds, which I will sprout and plant again, who knows maybe this time around and in Summer I will have greater success?

20190909_164847.jpg

I trust you have an amazing week further!

Cheer$;)

Sort:  

I found this post thanks to @miti-blog work, and his Curation Project: Undervalued Deserving Contents. Your work deserves way better, I'm happy to give you my upvote. Cheers, Nicola @knfitaly

Coltellinaio per passione e non solo...

Trentino - Italy

Many thanks much appreciated! Cheer$;)

You and your crazy "English" words!!! LOL
Hey man I hope this turns out really well for you!
Have a great week as well!

Hheheeh thanks a ton bruv much appreciated!

Hey thanks a ton much appreciated! Cheer$;)

It's a pleasure!

Hi @craigcryptoking!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.939 which ranks you at #4308 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 118 contributions, your post is ranked at #113.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61320.84
ETH 2394.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56