Wild Berries Abound Near My Campsite

in #food7 years ago

20170625_200455.jpg

There are too many to pick and eat!

I collected and froze many of them last summer, but there were still too many on our 8 acres, so I left several for the birds, deer, and other wildlife. The best patch of berries is right beside my campsite!

Thanks for viewing!

ID Photo (1).JPG

Sort:  

I love fresh berries! They are so good for baking and snacking too!

I know it. Too bad I don't bake, though. I just snack!

That's a great treat there! Talk about an awesome breakfast while camping.

I know it, right?

started growing these at home last year..
18765572_1843297532659200_270560572301846239_n.jpg

haven't got more than a handful of berries, but this year it looks to be better..

Very good ideea! Delicious!

@countryinspired You want to adopt an old guy to help pick those berries,

Nice in the winter to open a jar of jam. Delicious!

Nice and healthy!

They are. However, I end up picking seeds out of my teeth hours after eating them!

Haha! I bet! The only pitfall to eating them! Worth every single seed though! 😁

There's nothing like fresh berries---love em'! Nice of you to remember to leave some for the critters.

I notice that the critters don't always eat them. A lot of them wither away still on the bush.

Black raspberries - Rubus occidentalis! They are one of my favorite berries! When you pull them off the bush, they have the little cup instead of a whole berry. Yours look in good shape, too.

When I lived in Michigan, I had a whole route for picking gallons of these every summer. I found them most often at the edge of fields, especially around black walnut trees. A lot of garden plants don't grow well near black walnuts, but black raspberries do very well under them.

They would make a good permaculture combination. I've got some planted in my yard, but they aren't ripe yet. Enjoy your harvest! I could eat all those right quick, lol! :D

Yeah, you're right - they have a cup shape to them. They grow the best along the edge of our trail - the former railroad path - which makes them easy to pick.

Thanks for that confirmation. People get blackberries and black raspberries mixed up a lot. There are sure more seeds in the black raspberries, but their flavor is special. It looks like you have a good year for them - and trailside picking is so nice!

Wild berries are the best berries! And how handy is that -- just relax around the fire in your chair, stretch out your hand, and pick some berries. And black raspberries at that! That's easy living and happy foraging! :D

Yes, it is very nice to have them right beside camp. Unfortunately there is also a healthy patch of poison ivy in the same area.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2721.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56