You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Make Homemade Wine, The Cheap/Free, Easy, SUSTAINABLE Way!

in #food7 years ago

I've just started experimenting with wine making. Right now, I've got a couple posts going that are highlighting the processes that I'm experimenting with. I did a lot of reading before I started, but as you know, reading and putting into action are two different things. I didn't have a proper airlock, so the main thing I'm experimenting with is alternative methods to release the carbon dioxide without turning the end result into vinegar.

Of course, we'll still use any vinegar we make. That stuff is amazing and has a ton of other uses.

Just followed you. Will check out more of your posts when I can.

Sort:  

Great, thanks for your support, @cosmo.crator! Yes, it's pretty cool that wine and vinegar making have a lot of overlap - "ruined" products basically just turn into something else delicious and/or useable! What are you finding for releasing the CO2?

Right now I've rigged it up. I've got a couple experiments running using masking tape with different numbers of holes, held in place with rubber bands, and the caps pushed on (not tightly screwed). I think, if the carbon dioxide gets too bad the lid'll pop off, otherwise, it should be loose enough to leak out. When I can find some decent tubing, I've got a plan for making a better airlock, possibly running it through some kind of liquid (vodka, maybe).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54483.11
ETH 2297.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28