Pineapple Orange creamcicle sorbet

in #food6 years ago (edited)

A friend we saw at our chiropractor appointment this morning, gave us this jumbo navel orange!
PicsArt_04-20-02.46.13.jpg

So, I decided to turn it into a cool, refreshing dessert for after lunch.
I already had about 1 cup of frozen pineapple in the freezer.

First I peeled the big sucker. When I was a kid, we had this handy dandy orange peeler. Alas, I have none, so a knife will do.
I slice just before hitting the flesh, all the way around, making 4 section cuts.
It is pretty easy to pry the peel up from each corner.
I then pulled the orange in half, then cut crosswise.
Pulling apart the partial sections and laying them in a single layer in a dish. Plop that in a freezer.
PicsArt_04-20-02.13.20.png

I only had about 2hrs, but letting them freeze 100% would work best.

Next, I put about 1 cup of frozen pineapple in the Vitamix, followed by the frozen orange pieces. Drizzle about 1 Tbs of raw honey (natural immune booster!), 2 heaping dollops of coconut milk/cream (good fats!), 1Tbs coconut oil (good fats!) 1 tsp of Asorbic Acid (vit c!) & 1tsp of turmeric (anti-inflammatory!)

PicsArt_04-20-02.25.33.png

This is the AA I use.
PicsArt_04-20-02.46.49.jpg

Starting the Vitamix on low, with the tamper continuously tamping down the ingredients into the blades, turning up to high slowly. No pictures of this process, because well, it takes both hands.

Here is the beautiful creamy outcome!
PicsArt_04-20-02.32.54.jpg
PicsArt_04-20-02.34.41.jpg

I added a little coconut cream to the top of mine!
PicsArt_04-20-02.41.46.jpg

Now go try it!

@corrielaine

Sort:  

I love this! All the things you combined to make this dessert are great for you! I will have to try this and add the ascorbic acid. I usually make gummies with AA. But I’m sure my boys would love this! Thanks for sharing.

Ive been wanting to make gummies, but dint have any molds yet.

This was 100% delicious! Ill for sure be making it often in the summer!

Congratulations @corrielaine! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90