Russian Buckwheat with Spinach & Potatoes /FOOD PHOTOGRAPHY

in #food6 years ago (edited)

DSC00949.jpg

Yellow! Today is sunny and I woke up at 11am after sleeping very late last night for my last video edit.

It has been a tough week so I'm thinking about eating sauté. I grew up watching my mom making sautéd vegies and I'm so used to it. It's like it's always been a part of me, very comforting.

DSC00943.jpg

So today I decided to make one after a very busy week.

This recipe is very simple. I made it my own version so I picked my spices (spanish paprika, black pepper, chili flakes) and these three are just an A-mazing combination, taste so good together.

I used healthy vegan tamari soy sauce which is gluten free and of course the star of the day- sesame oil. These 5 ingredients are my major weapons for this recipe. :-)

DSC00865.jpg

For the tofu, I made it sure to dry it well by patting with paper towel, pressing down excess water and putting it in the freezer for 2 minutes before slicing it. This will give you a crispier tofu and not too saggy.

Make sure your potatoes are well cooked in the oil. For me it took like around 7 minutes to fully make it that softer to eat. It taste really great like fries and the oil makes it crispier. :-)

1522926684803.jpeg

I only used white onion coz I love the smell of it specially when it's browned in oil. The combination of olive oil and white onion really smells great and such amazing aroma.

So guys, here it is. I hope you like this recipe.

DSC00933.jpg

DSC00920.jpg

Ingredients

1522918468294.jpeg

  • 8 ounces tofu, drained & diced
  • 3 medium size potatoes
  • 1 white onion
  • 1 cup spinach chopped
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1/2 tbsp pepper
  • 1/2 tbsp spanish paprika
  • 1/2 tbsp chili flakes
  • 1 tbsp tamari soy sauce
  • 1.4 cup warm water
  • a pinch of salt

DSC00873.jpg

Directions

1522923140686.jpeg

  1. Heat the skillet in medium heat and add olive oil.
  2. Once hot, add sliced white onions and stir for 2 minutes.
  3. Add potatoes, paprika and pepper stirring occasionally until potatoes are tender.
  4. Add the tofu, tamari sauce, warm water and sesame oil. Let the tofu heated through until sides are golden and not sticking to pan.
  5. Lower heat. Add salt then stir and mix well to combine.
  6. Add the spinach on top. Turn of heat. Serve hot and top with sesame seeds and chili flakes with any grain of your choice. I'm using buckwheat for this recipe and it taste delicious.

*If you like this recipe and wanting to make it too please leave a comment and let me know how it goes.
Happy cooking!

DSC00939.jpg

Thanks again for visiting my blog! If you’ve enjoyed and found this post valuable and if you would like to see more of my cookntell posts daily, then your upvote would be much appreciated!
:-)

See you on the next cookntell.

Love,
Jayne

For my daily Cookntell food photography follow at my social sites:
Steemit https://steemit.com/@cookntell
Instagram https://www.instagram.com/cookntell/
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Cookntell-1610556372391531/
Twitter https://twitter.com/cookntell

#whatscookingchallenge
@jaynie
@vaughnpierre
@coinsider

DISCLAIMER: Me holding bottle of wine doesn't infer any kind of drinking habits. It's only for entertainment purposes associated with #whatscookingchallenge competition.

So this is where I usually shoot my videos and do my food photoshoot.
IMG_3087.JPG

7EB095AA-8FD6-4B38-9AAD-20B64CF18DF6.jpeg

Join us now @steemitbloggers

All photo contents of cookntell are original photos created by ©Cookntell and cannot be copied or used without the permission of Jayne Alexander @cookntell
B6F73D42-47D7-4F81-BA7C-182A245974D8.jpeg

Sort:  

Although my upvote is small I am happy to share it with you.

Thank you @moontje upvoted back! :-) Thanks for dropping by. See you around. Have a good day!

yay!!!! @cookntell :) I have been waiting for this one to appear in the feed!!!! Whoop whoop!!! That dish looks absolutely FAB!!!!!!!

Thanks for entering the #whatscookingchallenge - I cannot WAIT to see more from you hon!!!

SUPER AWESOME!!!

Thanks @jaynie I'm enjoying the challenge pretty much! :) Will keep posting for the tag #whatscookingchallenge

This meal looks wonderful! Your photos are awesome. I'd like to give it a try sometime!

Thans @rwedegis for visiting. I'm glad you like to try it. :)

Wow I definitely will try this yummy recipe! Thank you cookntell!

Glad you’ll want to try it @zuckerzombie thanks for visiting :)

Мы не едим гречку вместе с картошкой :-)

Мы едим гречку с котлетами или с мясом.

hello Sir @serkokin I love Russian buckwheat "kasha" but we ran out of meat today. Next time I'll include meatballs and potatoes and maybe even make "borscht"! :-)

Гречка получится вкуснее, если ее сначала сварить, а потом немного обжарить на сковороде.

Я расскажу тебе анекдот. Иностранец спрашивает русского:

  • Что вы едите?
  • Пирожки.
  • А что это?
  • Это мясо в тесте.
  • Понятно. А еще, что вы едите?
  • Чебуреки.
  • А что это?
  • Это мясо в тесте?
  • Понятно. А еще, что вы едите?
  • Пельмени.
  • А это что?
  • Это мясо в тесте.
  • Хорошо. А еще, что вы едите?
  • Манты...

Я надеюсь, что тебе понятен смысл анекдота.

I don't eat spicy food...however this recipe looks delicious! Great photos too...I can imagine the sesame oil adds so much flavor.

Also stopping by to say that you have been featured and curated for MSP Community Curation: Top Five 'Positive PAL Posts' - Week #14

https://steemit.com/community/@creativesoul/msp-community-curation-top-five-positive-pal-posts-week-14

Hello @creativesoul Thanks for dropping by and for featuring my post. Upvoted & followed. Have a nice day. :)

No drinking habits but, a bottle of fine wine is open and empty...psssss...(sarcasm here)

I love the setup, It is always nice to see how are things done and once again thank you for another recipe!

Haha. That is funny @soulast sorry I omitted the photo challenge seems to be done already so I don’t think if I still need it there. Lol. I posted that photo based on the challenge criteria. That photo might be too much. Haha. But thanks for visiting again! It is indeed interesting to see the set up way different from the video. For a one minute video, it takes a lot of effort to make it. From the set up to props to the back drop and the pattern, the food preparation and the cooking and the post production. But ended up feeling fulfilled after the day. :-)

That looks good. I hardly ever eat potatoes now, though. They're not good for your blood sugar. Butternut squash seems a good alternative. Sweet potato is better than ordinary potato. Do you have any ideas for other good alternatives?

Hello david! :-) @davidtweats Thanks for dropping by! I heard turnips are good alternative for potatoes. You can use it in soups, stews and really any way that you would use a potato.

Thanks for the suggestion!

Thanks for the suggestion!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Did you turn yourself into a cartoon? Love your photos. Love potatoes hehe.

haha! @joeyarnoldvn Joey thanks for visiting again. Yes joey. The app is called Picsart. It's a cool app it can turn your photos into cartoons and they have some other cool effects too.

Awesome. How are you? Keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58968.99
ETH 2825.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24