Delicious Homemade Meatballs !

in #food7 years ago (edited)


Hello everyone! 

I'm new to Steemit and this is my first post :) 

My love and passion for cooking started since I can remember myself! I grew up on delicious middle eastern food from my mom and grandmothers and I am on an ongoing journey to seek more delicious recipes from different cultures. 

Here I will be wanting to share with you my favorite recipes I have gathered throughout the years. Hope you love them! Feel free to comment or share any variations or ideas you may have. 

As a starter I'd love to share with you one of the delicious dishes that has been one of our favorites:  My Mamas Meatballs !

 Enjoy! :) 


                                   Delicious Homemade Meatballs 

Ingredients: 

For the Meatballs: 

500 grams freshly minced beef  

2 large onions, finely chopped  

1/3 cup bread crumbs

Salt and black pepper to taste

For the tomato sauce: 

3 tbsp oil 2 large onions, finely chopped 

3 tbsp tomato paste 

2 large tomatoes, grated  

Salt and black pepper to taste 

3 cups water   

Method:

- In a large bowl mix all the meatball ingredients by hand and season the mixture with salt and pepper. 

- Roll meatballs to about the size of a ping pong ball (tip: wet hands to prevent meat from sticking to them) and store, covered, in the refrigerator until needed.   

- Heat oil in a stock pot (or pressure cooker) over medium heat. Cook chopped onions, stirring occasionally, until golden brown, about 3 minutes. 

- Stir in the tomato paste, grated tomatoes and season with salt and pepper. 

- Add water gradually and mix. Let the sauce bubble, uncovered, and then add in the meatballs one by one. (Make sure water covers the meatballs). 

- Cover with lid and cook for 40 minutes ( or 25 min if using pressure cooker), stirring occasionally.  

- Serve hot with white steamed rice and enjoy

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tip: I usually make double the amount of meatballs and store half of the uncooked meatballs in a sealed container in the freezer. When I’m in a hurry and don’t have much time to prepare a meal from scratch, I quickly make the sauce, pop the frozen meatballs in the pot and let em’ cook!  :) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------





Sort:  

I needed that, thank you @cooknbake :)

Welcome and looks lovely

Thank you !:))

Wow... Living in Spain, where albondigas are legion, i can say that yours would fit very well on the menu of any restaurant :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59123.43
ETH 2988.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75