Our Backyard Project: Growing Our Own Food

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Being the only daughter in the family, I used to follow my mom to do our grocery shopping. Back then, RM50 was rarity to me and having a RM50 note meant mommy can make a "big trip" grocery shopping and sometimes bring home some balance too!

Time has changed and now that the entire economy is in a slump, the buying power became weak and people started to tightening up and reducing consumption in general. The costs of everything are rising up and food are getting more expensive especially here in Labuan where majority of the food supply are being shipped in from mainland Sabah.

Whenever I came back from my grocery shopping trip, I never fail to grumble about the grocery shopping bills. This is when my husband @dilresh, suggested growing some of our own food in our backyard.

Photo_1515673347090.png

Together with our helpers, we started our "Backyard Project" about 10 months ago and I am more than happy to share some photos of our produce...

20180111_170108.jpg
▪ Our Backyard Project

FB_IMG_1515672597349.jpg
▪Bittergourd

20180111_201244.jpg
▪Cucumber

20180111_165839.jpg
▪White Radish

20180111_170227.jpg
▪Peppermint

Growing our own vegetables have definitely reduced our grocery expenses and we enjoy eating our home grown vegetables because they are 100% free from pesticides and we are using only food waste compost as fertilizer. They are also fresh and tastier than store-bought vegetables.

FB_IMG_1515672557627.jpg

FB_IMG_1515672609758.jpg

Dear fellow Steemians, growing your own food is not rocket science. It is very simple and I strongly believe anyone can learn to grow food pretty easily. So, what are you waiting for? Start planning your garden today!

Xoxo,
@connie1018

Photo_1515514183268.png

Sort:  

I agree with this idea.. Let make our backyard as our market...

Hehe yes.. instead of planting flowers, let's grow veg.. ada hasil lagi..

I'm impressed. I'm sure a good deal of effort is involved.
The harvested veggies in the photos looked beautiful. No holes.
No pests?
I wish you happy wholesome eating.
I'm living in a condo, so no garden.

Fingers-crossed, so far we are getting good reaps. But as u can see, our produce (e.g; cucumber)are generally smaller in size compared to the regular produce in grocery store.

Read this article on how to grow food in your condo balcony:
http://www.rojakdaily.com/lifestyle/article/2886/these-balcony-farms-will-make-you-want-to-grow-your-own-sky-garden

Best juga semua sendiri tanam

Tidak juga.. no luck in growing leafy veg.. smua kurus2 tdk cukup vitamin 🤣

😂 tdk cukup baja tu ...nanti gemuk2 tu

Wow.. Im inspired sia mau test la ni

Ngam tu.. bnyk tmpt mau tanam d sna rumah ko tu.. hehehe

Wow super impressive garden @connie1018. I wish I'd the patience to plant all these ! It;s true that the harvest you produce is so much better, minus the pesticides and gmos... on a funny note, when i clicked into this post, I was expecting some weed 'cause of your visual (looks like weed), and words like 'backyard' and 'growing own...' LOL don't take it wrongly, just a joke... happy sundays! :)

LOLs...i know right.. especially the 2nd photo, which is the Okra.. the leaves looks so much like weed!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51