Friday Night Dinner: Ember Day Tart

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!
Thought I'd share with you one of my go-to recipes for a relatively quick, easy, and nutritious meal, the Ember Day Tart. My favorite recipes are the endlessly adaptable ones; the ones that have been created around a staple and can be tweaked to suit whatever you have on hand. This is just such a recipe, and while the original one is simple and delicious, I also find myself adding or subtracting ingredients based on whatever's in my kitchen at the moment. Taken from Sally Fallon's Nourishing Traditions, her version is as follows:

1 recipe pie crust or 1 prepared pie crust
2 large onions, chopped
2 tablespoons butter
4 eggs
2 tablespoons whole grain bread crumbs
1/2 teaspoon saffron threads dissolved in 1 tablespoon warm water
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
pinch nutmeg
2 tablespoons currants

Line a pie pan with pastry. Meanwhile, saute onions in butter until soft. Beat eggs and stir in onions, bread crumbs, seasonings and currants. Pour into pie shell and back at 350'F for 30 to 40 minutes.

Just like Easter morning!

Full disclosure: I have never used saffron threads in this recipe. I'm sure they're awesome, I just don't happen to ever have them hanging out in my kitchen. Currants either, and it's always come out delicious. In fact, tonight I didn't have any onion so I sauteed up some carrot and garlic and my, it smells good. So good that I'm going to sign off in a second and go enjoy my dinner. Hope this helps you all whip up a delicious meal too!

It's not going to win any awards for food photography,
but it sure tastes good!

As mentioned above, this recipe comes from Sally Fallon's Nourishing Traditions, which I almost hesitate to call a cookbook because it's so much more. Funnily enough, shortly after I decided that this is what we'd be eating for dinner tonight I saw the latest post from @schoonercreek who also gives the book a shout-out! Highly recommend it for anyone interested in traditional, whole-foods diets. Our copy's cover has fallen off and the book has split in two because we have used it so much over the years!

Sally Fallon knows what's up

Sort:  

Indeed she does! I love this post. I have never made this in all these years! Why? I do not know but it's time to start! Thanks for the shoutouts! Cheers!

Hello @colleenthurber. I haven't used saffron in recipes either, but I will sure give this one a try and will report results :) I also always adapt recipes to suit what I have in the cupboard. Thank you...

Nice post.I respect you very much because you contribute to steemit.I will do activities like you.I would like to extend the steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61048.59
ETH 2372.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54