Ground Beef Gravy & Vegetables Over Potatoes

in #food6 years ago

Another New Recipe For Me

A few weeks ago my wife and I went to eat at her parents house and on the menu that evening was a good ol Beef Roast. We don't eat roasts too often based on cost and size of the meat you must buy. We are much more consumers of chicken and beef if we decide to cook with meat, something we have been trying to do less and less of when possible. (It's great to consume protein without the death of something that has a pain center in it's brain, IMO.)

Needless to say, her parents beef roast was wonderful. And since we generally buy ground beef instead I decided I would try to create a similar tasting dish but for a lower cost. Since potatoes are 20c/lb and beef is 3.50 lb I figured I would find some new recipes that had potatoes in them. All in all I believe it turned out wonderful.
IMG_7804.JPG

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 2 packets brown gravy mix
  • 3 lbs skinned potatoes
  • 1 lb bag of mixed vegetables (peas, carrots, corn, green beans)
  • 8 oz sliced mushrooms
  • 2 onions diced
  • 2 cans beef broth

Season with these to taste, I literally measured nothing and just went off my preferance.

  • soy sauce
  • worcestershire sauce
  • garlic
  • pepper
    Careful with these, they have a very strong flavor! You can always add more but you can't take it out once its in there!
  • rosemary
  • thyme

Directions

  • Skin potatoes and set aside
  • Brown the ground beef, removing excess fat. Season with all seasonings to taste.
  • Boil potatoes until soft enough to mash. Mash potatoes when they are done and set them aside.
    IMG_7805.JPG
  • Set beef aside in a bowl and cooking all vegetables in the same beef pan. Start to pour small amounts of broth into vegetable pot, allow the water to evaporate so the flavors of the broth are incorporated into the vegetables. Scrape any caramelization from the sides/bottom of the pot. Repeat this process over medium high heat until vegetables are tender.
  • In a separate pot mix up 2 cups of beef broth and gravy packets. Wisk until all solids are dissolved and cook the gravy according to directions. I like to season my gravy with all of the same seasonings above.
  • Add beef to vegetable mixture and mix.
  • When gravy is done, add gravy to vegetable/beef pot and mix well.
  • Spoon over mashed potatoes and enjoy the delicious meal!

I will definitely be making this again, the only difference will be even more vegetables!

I apologize I don't have a picture of the final product served over the mashed potatoes. In all truth I didn't intend on making a post about this. I was just messing around in the kitchen cooking for the family and then I decided I wanted to start document after I began. I was so excited to eat this and serve it to others than I forgot to get a final picture. Thank you for reading and let me know if you have tried this or make a similar recipe!

Sort:  

You got a 16.67% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @coin-garden!

Beautiful, well done .. wonderful work
Nothing better than home food
Thanks for sharing

You got a 7.41% upvote from @proffit courtesy of @coin-garden!
Send at least 0.01 SBD/STEEM to get upvote , Send 1 SBD/STEEM to get upvote + resteem

You got a 4.32% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @coin-garden!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

Nice and delicious :) I also dont follow measurements when it comes to food. I keep experimenting until I get it right :) Keep it up !

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

minnowbooster payout in the amount of $69 STU, $130 USD.
smartmarket payout in the amount of $2 STU, $3 USD.
edensgarden payout in the amount of $1 STU, $1 USD.
morwhale payout in the amount of $1 STU, $1 USD.
inciter payout in the amount of $1 STU, $1 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value of $72 STU, $137 USD before curation, with approx. $18 USD curation being earned by the bidbots.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @coin-garden and is by no means a judgement of your work.

Se ve muy rica, vale la pena intentarlo en casa. Gracias por compartir esta receta

Se ve muy rica, vale la pena intentarlo en casa. Gracias por compartir esta receta

great.......potatoes are quite nutritional.Potatoes are an excellent source of vitamin C (45% of the DV), which is more vitamin C than one medium tomato (40% DV) or sweet potato (30% DV). ... One medium potato with the skin contributes 2 grams of fiber or 8% of the daily value per serving.

This post has received a 12.51% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 95% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/shares to delegate SP to @Shares. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84