Stuffed Zucchini Flowers & CSA love

in #food5 years ago

Hi fellow Steemians,

One of the great things about summer around here is the delicious fresh veggies you can get. We are supporting two of our local farms by purchasing a share in their respective community shared agriculture (CSA) programs. We’ve been getting fantastic, fresh semi-organic food for less than 20$ a week per share. I’ve shared our love for the farm a few times before but this week was particularly special!

z4obbejrwg.jpg

This was our Saturday pickup from this past weekend, lots of great peppers and tomatoes. Sad to see no more kale, I’ve really come to love kale nowadays. Even better because it’s so healthy for us!

1AD223294FA74B66800F56AFA11A6233.jpegC83C590E4AA94981B9BC98E831E55C71.jpeg

Some of our recent shares.

Zucchini Flowers!

One of the things I loved years ago when I lived in Italy for a brief few months, was a fantastic delicacy, stuffed zucchini flowers!

I couldn’t remember what we stuffed them with specifically but I’m confident it was ricotta cheese with some other things. I kind of made my own recipe based off what I think would taste good and they were delicious for sure!

First thing is to get a few zucchini flowers. I was able to get 12 for 1$ which was awesome! I never see them on sale but the farmers we support on Saturday are Italian so they understand the importance of those fantastic flowers.

I gently washed them and took the pistils out and set them aside to dry a bit while I prepared the other ingredients.

lz3mctxc70.jpg

Once that was taken care of I put together the stuffing. I wanted it to be simple so I could enjoy the flavor of the flowers as well as the filling.

I used 2 tablespoons of ricotta cheese.

3eep7wsyz4.jpg

I grabbed a few sprigs of what I thought was chives but ended up being scallions I think. I chopped them as finely as I could to spread it out when mixed.

lpwyneyzyh.jpg

Then I just put the ingredients in a bowl, sprinkled a little bit of cane sugar on it and mixed it up.

k3p1z28qh4.jpg

Now time for stuffing! This was certainly a challenge, the flowers are pretty fragile especially because they were washed and wet.

I opened the flowers as best I could without ruining them and added a small scoop into each. You then twist the petals a bit to seal it and make it look fancy.

b2rapbc27c.jpg

The top left flower was the first and best one I did but I still did a decent job with the others.

Once they are all rolled and stuffed, i sprinkled them with a bit of pink Himalayan salt and drizzled some olive oil on them so they don’t burn and cook well. I had the oven preheating on 350 while I was prepping, and I tossed them into the oven for 8 minutes. A lot of people pan fry them in oil but that seems too heavy and ruins it I think.

lctpll1myb.jpg

They were fantastic! I am certainly going to make them again. They obviously taste like ricotta but they have a nice earthy flavor to them from the flowers.

Connect with me!
Did you enjoy this post or my other posts? Please consider following me for more! @cmplxty

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 585 PRE tokens, with a market value of $2.50. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043

Still using Steemit.com? Upgrade! Steempeak is a much better user-interface, gives loads more information at your fingertips and has some great developers behind it. Give it a try, go to www.steampeak.com and see how much easier it is. You just need to use Steem Connect, one of the most secure ways to log into other Steem frontends.

Sort:  

Every vegetable needed for our human body. It's do our body and mind very strong and strong full. If you want to be a healthy man you must be eat all vegetable

Posted using Partiko Android

Vegetables are critically important, lots of people don’t eat enough of them!

Congratulations @cmplxty! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Interesting. I don't think I've ever eaten any flowers of any sort before lol. Grape leaves from Dolmades with Greek food, but I don't think I've eaten a flower before. Interesting though. :) I love ricotta though!

Yeah same before I was in Italy, I never thought to!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79