Thursday is Pozole 🥣🌶🍲 Day!!!

in #food7 years ago

Here in Acapulco, there is this wonderful little vegan restaurant, Verde Vegan, with a cute little store right next door named Verde Pistache.

Casey and I have been eating here as often as we can over the past month and a half. Casey and I are not vegan, and I am not here to shove veganism down anyone's throat. With that being said, if you love delicious food, this is the place for you!

Casey ordered a Tamar (I did not write down what was inside besides bananas and hemp 😣) and I ordered the Iron Man: orange juice, lemon juice, and red grapes (sour and yummy!).

There is something for everyone from sandwiches to soups to smoothies to big hearty meals like pozole! And the pozole..... It is sooooooooo good 🤤 Just thinking about it is making my mouth water.

The flavor combinations are remarkable, especially when you add the side ingredients and let sit for a little while. Just be careful with the jalapeños if you are not a fan of spicy 😝 We love spicy and this hit all the right spots for us.

We also ordered the Tarta de Portobello: a layer of avocado on the bottom, then portobello mushrooms, some hummus, and topped with spouts and tomato, served with toast (Casey is telling me now there was some vegan cheese on there but I did not taste it haha). We were absolutely surprised by this dish! Again, the flavor combos were phenomenal and was just the right size to be an appetizer for the pozole!

If you are ever in Acapulco, I highly recommend you check out this restaurant. The staff are super friendly and helpful (some even speak a little English and are always willing to learn more). Also, do NOT miss out on visiting Verde Pistache next door!

Until next time!...

Source:

Verde Vegan Image

Sort:  

Vegan pozole! This must be part of the new menu I haven't had chance to try. Daaaaamn.

It is beyond to die for! Personally, I could do without the soy meat and just do veggies and lentils. Every Thursday is pozole day though so please go check them out. They are amazing!

share some steem and get your post resteemed

Oh wow! I always over the years talk about Pozole day. Even when I was here as a meat eater, I never tried it. I have always loved the sound of the words "pazole day" . It makes me happy.

We did not know, or least we did not remember, that Thursday (and Saturday so we've been told) is Pozole Day. We just happened to have looked at the menu at VV on Thursday and saw it was an option. I might want to try making it, once our kitchen is fully functioning that is hahaha

Congratulations @cmduncan94! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46