You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Japanese Food Series: Part 5- Agedashi Tofu

in #food7 years ago

Yum! I'd fake dashi by replacing the bonito with shiitaki (and maybe a tenny-touch of miso if I didn't mind giving up the clarity of the broth), but otherwise this is something I want to make soon.

Sort:  

The shiitaki miso combo is a great idea. I was also thinking of your fish sauce substitute as another idea for the bonito as a vegetarian substitute. If you get a chance to make your version, than please share it. There are a lot of people that would be interested in a vegetarian/vegan version! @amy-goodrich commented above that she would like to try this but she does not eat soy. I offered a work around that included your "fish sauce" and suggested a substitution for the soy sauce. I would like to know your idea to help her. Then we could all learn something!

BTW- we are getting close to finalizing our judging system for @cookwithus. This is the new food competition that I am forming with @offoodandart and @pandamama. We will finalize that system this weekend and then I will shoot you an email for your feedback. I did not want to waste your time before we had something fully flushed out. We really want to make sure the judging is fair. Our food contest @cookwithus will start in March and will be focused on home cooks and we will promote education, community and learning from each other. I think you will like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.53
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71