Southern Style Crustless Gluten Free Sweet Potatoe Pie....

in #food7 years ago (edited)

image

Hi there fellow Steemians! There's one great Pie this is it! A southern recipe but updated twist for those who have celiac or are gluten sensitive such as myself.

There is no traditional crust in this one although I dilute this with a crust as well so I'll leave that up to you. 😎

I also made my own whip cream which literally takes 1 minute or less and I actually used my blender! 😃

4 medium to lrg. sweet potatoes
1/3 stick real butter
your favorite shell or go Crustless
3 eggs
2/3 cup sugar
1 Tbsp. ground cinnamon
½ teaspoon salt
1 cup whipping heavy cream

Sweetened whipped cream to serve recipe below....

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Prick the sweet potatoes in several places with a fork, and bake the sweet potatoes right on the rack for 1 hour, until soft. Leave the oven on. Remove and cool the potatoes until they are just slightly warm, then peel the skins off mashing them and place in a puree in a food processor or blender and place in a large bowl.

  2. If you decide to use a crust then Unroll the prepared pie crust and fit it into a 9-inch pie plate. Attractively crimp the edges of the crustose use your favorite one. I adore Whole Foods all butter gluten free crust.

  3. For the filling, in a large bowl, whisk together the eggs and butter. Whisk in the pureed sweet potatoes, and then add the sugar, cinnamon, and salt and whisk into the sweet potato mixture until blended. Slowly whisk in the cream until well
    combined. Pour the filling into the prepared pie crust.
    The crumble topping is listed below in another recipe...add it before baking.

  4. Bake the pie for 45 to 55 minutes until the filling is set. You can test this by inserting a sharp knife near the center; when it come out clean, the pie is done. Cool the pie completely on a wire rack. The pie will be a bit puffed up when it comes out of the oven, then sink slightly as it cools. You can serve immediately, or cover and refrigerate for up to 2 days.

  5. Serve sliced, with whipped cream, it only takes a minute to make it!😃

image

Easy Sweetened Whipped Cream Recipe

A dollop of lightly sweetened whipped cream is a perfect topping for Sweet Potatoe pie above or anything!

INGREDIENTS

1 cup Land O Lakes® Heavy Whipping Cream
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla

DIRECTIONS

Beat chilled whipping cream and sugar in chilled bowl at high speed, scraping bowl often, until stiff peaks form. Gently stir in vanilla. Store refrigerated.

Keeps well in refrigerator for up to 4 days.

image

The topping is simply 1/2 stick room temp. Butter and mix 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/2 c gluten free flour and 1/4c. Coconut flour. Mix until they form a crumbly sppearance then place on top of Pie before baking it.

Sort:  

This is my kind of food. So delicious looking! @clove71

It is great for sure! Very filling, lol!

Looks delicious @clove71 I will follow you

Thanks, your hashbrown recipe looks really great! I wasn't sure if people follow food much on Steemit. I seem to find myself reading more and more about Steemit, how it works, etc.
Then when I have to cook something I'll just post it here, lol!
Thanks again, see you soon fellow Steemer! ;-)

Your welcome. Thanks for stopping by my post appreciate that

Congratulations @clove71! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Lovely recipe. As Brit I am not as knowledgeable about some American traditional desserts. Is this not loosely based upon Pumpkin Pie? I have actually made that for an American living in Uk. He was having a big thanksgiving party and wanted 100 small, bite size pumpkin pies. He was a bit miffed when I added mixed spice and orange zest to the recipe, to try to improve the flavour! Enjoyed the post. X

Hi there, yes this is exactly the same as a pumpkin pie and tastes similar but the sweet potato tastes different.
That is too bad he was mad as that sounds really great, I will have to go check out your posts on here and it sounds like I will find some really good recipes!

I love the flavour of sweet potato and it would make a better pie than the others - tasteless until I pepped them up a bit! I have promoted your post on my latest crepe one as I really liked this pie, and good for Coeliacs too. Never enough interesting recipes for you poor sufferers. I have a lot of information on alternative flours you might find interesting, I will have to post that soon. Thank you for your interest. :)X

Keep well in the fridge for up to 4 days? long time! :D

Yes, unfortunately the cream based pies do not last as long as like the berry pie I made last week, it had a crust and no cream inside just fruit.

I love fruits!

yum I am from the south and every Christmas miss that sweet potato pie... I have my aunt's recipe and this looks wonderful too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78