Recipe Alert: Vegan Roasted Red Pepper "Cream" Sauce

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit friends,

If you follow me and/or you've read my intro post, you know I do my best to balance my diet and incorporate lots of veggies in my daily meals. I even go through little spurts of vegetarian/veganism from time to time. I found this fantastic vegan Roasted Red Pepper Sauce online years ago and wanted to share. I have since "dressed" it up to my liking. It's not only vegan but delicious and super quick & easy to make. It's even great for all of the gluten-freers out there and those following the Paleo trend. You can serve over pasta and add extra veggies to make it a heartier dish and (if you're not doing the full on vegan thing) add real Parmesan or Mozzarella. This sauce is amazing and so good for you. If you're a meat-eater, feel free to throw in some shrimp or serve over grilled chicken.

Vegan Roasted Red Pepper "Cream" Sauce
Makes about 3 cups

3 c chopped roasted red bell peppers
2 T pine nuts, toasted
1/2 large onion, diced
1/2 t crushed red pepper flakes (or less if you want less spice)
4 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 c low-sodium vegetable broth
1/2 c unsweetened, regular almond milk
1/4 c chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
1/4 c chopped fresh basil
Ground black pepper & salt, to taste

In a blender, purée roasted red peppers and pine nuts. Set aside.

Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add onion and crushed red pepper; cook about 3 or 4 minutes minutes or until soft and beginning to brown. Stir in garlic and broth; cook 1 minute or until liquid has evaporated.

Stir in puréed red pepper mixture and almond milk, whisking until evenly combined. Simmer 4 or 5 minutes until heated through, stirring frequently. Remove from heat and stir in basil, parsley and salt/black pepper. Enjoy!

***Add any extra cheese, veggies or meat you'd like. The recipe above however is 100% vegan and gluten-free. I like to serve with fresh fettuccine noodles but it's also great with any pasta or on seafood and chicken. Get creative. Go crazy!

Untitled.png

Sort:  

I've been looking for a good blue cheese dip I can make at home.

Yumm, this sounds and looks delicious. I do the same when it comes to my diet. There is days when I do not eat any animal protein at all any more. Not even trying to go vegan but I just have gotten to love veggies so much over the years and I know that meat is just not the best thing for us any more with modern farming practices. I may eat fish or organic free range chicken once in a while but have cut back my animal protein by probably over 80%.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50