5 Freezable Foods for Frugal People

in #food7 years ago

Putting food on the table 3 times a day is no small feat.

We've all come up with easy solutions, however you can't just buy / grow and cook the same thing over and over again. A great way to have more variety on hand for convenience is the freezer. Yes, canning, vacuum sealing, and dehydrating are more long term, but sometimes you just have to keep it simple. Here's 5 examples of my favorite things to freeze.

Tip: Let foods cool before freezing for better quality.
Also, some foods will freeze better than others, so you will learn what works best for you over time.

1. Leftovers

This is a wonderful way to reduce food waste. Sometimes you'll find yourself with an inordinate amount of leftovers and just get so tired of eating it for every single dinner and lunch afterwards. So to extend its life and the joy of eating it, bag it up and freeze for later.

leftovers.jpg

2. Cooked Winter Squash & Pumpkin

These larger varieties can be used as a side or ingredient in both sweet and savory recipes. For most, simply cut in half, scoop out seeds and stringy bits, and bake on a deep cookie sheet with water until the squash is soft enough to scoop out. Bag and Freeze. Some squash, such as red kuri, are better if you simply cut up after baking. The texture and skin of the squash is different.

pumpkin2.jpg
Spaghetti Squash is my favorite of all to freeze. You don't need the water. Slice, and drizzle with oil and salt to keep from burning. Bake on 400 F for 40 - 50 mins until tender. When done, scoop out all the yummy noodle center. It is wonderful sautéed with some oil or butter and dried parsley. I had frozen this for a year and it still tasted just as fresh as the day I made it!

3. Pre - Cut Veggies

Whether it's from the garden or the grocery store, veggies are important for a healthy life. You can cut up summer squash for soups and casseroles, apples to flavor venison in the crockpot, and prep sweet peas and green beans. One thing I do for the peas and beans is pre - boil (Blanche) for 30 - 60 seconds, let cool, then bag and freeze.

greasy beans.jpg

4. Vegetable Stock

This not only reduces food waste, but adds something extra for many meals. Use in place of any chicken or beef stock in your favorite recipes or simply make some soup! Some vegetables are better than others. I have done sweet pea and greasy short cut stock so far. It is so simple. After pre - boiling your veggies for the freezer, save the same water and through in the scrap pieces from prepping them. Bring to a boil, then cover and reduce to a simmer for at least 45 mins - 1 hour. You want the liquid to reduce some and turn a darker, brownish / green color. This is the flavor. You can bag this up or pour in ice cube trays to make portioning it easier.

veggie stock.jpg

5. French Toast & Pancakes

Making both of these delicious foods for breakfast can be time consuming. So I like to make a big batch and freeze them in pairs in bags. Then I just pull it out the morning of and pop it in the toaster for a slightly crisp, fresh tasting home-made breakfast on the go.

pancakes2.jpg pancakes.jpg

And that's it! 5 of my favorite freeze-able foods to make variety and quality more possible in our busy lives.

-'The Dancer'

Sort:  

I find this post to be very helpful for the frugal preppers in our community. I have followed, upvoted, and resteemed this post.....I am here to help preppers by upvoting and resteeming survival, preparedness, and sustainable living content. Don't forget to use the #preppers tag in your posts. If you are on facebook, you can also share your posts in this group so our members can help upvote and share your posts. https://www.facebook.com/groups/steemitpreppers

Thank you very much! I have joined the group and will start tagging. It's good to know my post is considered helpful content. :)

I used to do more freezer cooking when my kids were still at home. I still blanch garden beans to freeze, make extra cookie dough (roll it up) and freeze and the broth. Nothing is better than homemade broth in a stew or soup.
#thl great advice

Thanks! I hadn't thought of the cookie dough. That sounds like a great idea.

Too many people store up nothing but things like spam and MRE's and calling that "prepped". Store what you eat and eat what you store. These are amazing ideas to prevent food fatigue. Looks delicious. Upvoted.

They are good! thank you!

SPAM- OMGoodness! haven't had that in decades!

Sharing this on our facebook wall. I hope we can send you traffic and more followers. Thanks!

Thank you! Most people would be surprised how much homesteading and the freedom mindset that comes with it has in common with prepping.

Key word is "freedom"- I like that comparison

very useful post! Did you take these photos as well?

Thanks! Yes I did. They are all from our garden / kitchen. :)

@clarkfarmstead

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know and I will nominate your post!

Sure! You have my permission to share any of my things with a link back to my page. Just let me know whenever you do. Thanks!

Thanks if you're chosen I will let you know! It will link to you blog post, username, and an original photo from the post if you make the daily @ocd compilation!

Hey there, Thanks again for the food tips! I Mentioned you in my Shiners of the Week Post for your @OCD Nomination, check it out on my profile! Keep up the great work with your posts @clarkfarmstead!

Please check out the comment I just left you about nominating your post to @ocd!

Yum-pancakes! Great pictures!

Thank you! Those are my favorite, sourdough pancakes. Haven't made them in a while though.

Very helpful post. I was just wondering the other day how squash would freeze for winter time use. Thanks for sharing.

You're welcome! I love freezing squash. I guess you could tell though. :)

Great suggestions. Love this post!

@clarkfarmstead - great article, and thanks for the examples.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67651.53
ETH 3845.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65