My Summer Deck Garden

in #food7 years ago (edited)

My Summer Deck Garden

The last several years I've tried gardening in the beds to the side of my house with little success. If it wasn't bugs or critters eating my plants and fruits, it was the soil that was too close to the black walnut tree. I spent hundreds of dollars on soil and fertilizer, pulled weeds, watered plants and dug holes. But never was there any bounty to speak about.

So this year, I decided to do a garden on the deck. So far, it seems to be a better place where there are less bugs and critters to destroy and dig up my plants. The deck is two stories up from the ground and surrounded by a wooden railing to keep big critters out.

I am happy to see my squash blooming and hope that the pot is large enough for them to get ample nutrients and root depth to produce a good size veggie. If you have any tips for growing in pots, please, let me know.

green man.jpg

The Green Man. I like how he expresses his masculine and feminine side with such beauty and grace. My son and I had fun painting this sculpture, a bit messy, but it adds to his imperfect beauty.

20170625_092535.jpeg
Red Roses. My sister thinks these are called Kashmir rose or Chrysler Imperial. I really don't remember what they were when I bought them. I counted 9 buds that are blooming. This is overlooking the fire pit down below.

20170625_092501.jpeg
My zucchini and cucumbers are blossoming and about to burst with delicious veggies!

20170625_092555.jpeg
First snow pea of the year! ..and the first time I've ever grown peas.

20170625_092520.jpeg
My strawberries are fruiting! <3 Also, this is the first time I've grown strawberries.

20170625_092708.jpeg
The garden deck overlooking the mountains of Asheville, NC. You can also see the Tulsi Basil that is growing like wild. As well, here I have squash, cilantro, chocolate mint, tomatoes, peppers and Purple Basil.

Hope you are enjoying a flourishing garden this summer! Please share any comments or tips you have below.

Happy Summer,
Cindy

Sort:  

Looking great! Nothing better then growing your own! followed.

Wow, you have a beautiful garden indeed! But that sculpture looks a bit scary 🙈 😁 🤓

Yeah I'm not sure if he's just androgynous or creepy. But we love him anyway. :)

Nice - I've had good luck with tomatoes and peppers in pots on the deck at my previous house. Squash and watermelons were more difficult - you essentially have to put up strings or wires to hang the vegetables from since they don't have room to sit in the pots.

Thanks Justin. I have some tomato cages that I could maybe use to tie them up to and let them spread out.

Beautiful. Looks like your plants are thriving! I really like the first pic...the unique planter. Enjoyed.

Thanks yes, the Green Man is getting all sorts of attention. He's a unique fella. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05