Spicy Food Is Good For You!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Anyone who knows me knows I love spicy food. I'll try and throw some red pepper into anything if I have it on hand. I remember my grandmother used to always tell me I'd destroy my insides. I'd sit down with bowls of pepper filled soups or jars of ghost pepper salsa and just eat it out of the jar with tears streaming down my face. In my mouth was never a problem, though there was that one time I had ghost pepper in my eye playing cards...anyway, did you know that there are multiple health benefits to eating spicy foods?


Source

Burning Calories?

So this may be a reason why I could eat as much as I used to and still stay relatively average, but spicy foods can usually put a kick in your metabolism. Of course, most people who eat at Taco Bell or Chipotle's might experience the same kick in the ass, but most chilies have a compound called capsaicin. Capsaicin is an irritant for mammals, including humans, and produces a sensation of burning in any tissue with which it comes into contact. This might actually cause the body to burn extra calories 20 minutes after eating. It might not be much, but hey, it's something!


Source

Prevent Heart Problems

This is a big one for me as all males on my father's side have died due to some kind of heart problem, usually heart attacks, so maybe my love for spice is just a survival instinct. There have been studies done that show in cultures that eat a lot of spicy food, there is a far less risk of heart problems. Chili peppers can actually fight bad cholesterol and that capsaicin I talked about before can help fight inflammation. Spicy foods actually don't cause heartburn or stomach ulcers, but they can worsen it if you have them. You're probably doing more for your body by eating them.


Source

Helps Prevent Cancer

Another good thing for my genetics as this has been something that also ran in some of my family. That capsaicin I keep bringing up does a lot of good for you. It actually can kill some cancer and leukemia cells. Another spice, turmeric (though not really spicy at all) can actually slow down growth of cancer cells.


Source

Low Blood Pressure? Spicy Food Helps That, Too

The heat of peppers can help increase blood flow within your body. According to the USDA National Nutrient Database, green and red peppers have a variety of essential minerals and high levels of vitamin C, and both vitamins A and C strengthen heart muscle walls. This will all help boost your cardiovascular systems!


Source

Helps Ease Depression and Anxiety?

Studies show that most spicy foods release serotonin within the body. According to Medical News Today It is thought that serotonin can affect mood and social behavior, appetite and digestion, sleep, memory and sexual desire and function. So they actually help with stress and depression! What is your stance on spicy foods? Maybe you'll consider trying some more yourself! Have a nice day!


My Discord

Visit our online Congregations at:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/ICoLR/
https://vk.com/congregation_of_lord_rayel

Also check out:
http://ra-el.org/
https://armageddonbroadcastnetwork.tv/
https://sanctuaryinterfaith.org/

Donate at:
http://ra-el.org/donations.html
[email protected]
https://sanctuaryinterfaith.org/donations/ or through paypal at: [email protected]

Sort:  

I've loved spicy food since I made exodus to Baja. As a kid I was always told not to eat that pepper, it will burn your mouth, so that put a little fear in trying it... Funny story :D William S. told me to try some kinda pepper and I did and that became my new found love spicy food!

I used to always put cayenne powder on my breakfasts and/or lunch. It probably did a lot of good for my metabolism, starting with it early in the day.

Loovveeee spicy food too ❤❤❤ but too much give me "pikki poep"😉

The Spice of Life . I never used to like spicy hot food now I love it . My body knows what is good for it .

I am still getting used to the spicy foods

delete

Good thing I didn't advise eating it 🙃

Yummy and multiple benefits!

Spicy food isn't for everyone, but I love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64658.37
ETH 3421.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52