Avocado Greek Salad

in #food7 years ago

IMG_6952.jpg

I have been so incredibly busy with my new job and summer classes, that I appreciate this recipe now more than ever (seriously I make this at least 5 times a week). It takes no time to throw together and stores really well in to-go containers so I can eat it on the run!

This is my version of a Greek salad. It’s light and refreshing, yet satisfying. You can eat it for lunch or pair it with some grilled chicken or salmon for a great summer dinner.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 cucumber
  • 1-2 handfuls of cherry tomatoes
  • 1 yellow bell pepper
  • 1 avocado
  • Thinly sliced red onion (I only use a little, I find it overpowering)
  • 2 tsp Italian seasoning blend (salt and pepper with oregano and dried basil works great too)
  • Goat/Sheep feta cheese
  • Fresh basil * this is a must (It’s delicious)
  • lemon juice from half a lemon
  • 1-2 tablespoon of red wine vinegar (apple cider works great too)
  • 1-2 tablespoons olive oil

Here’s how to do it:

  1. Chop the yellow pepper, cucumber, and avocado into 3/4 -1-inch squares and cut the tomatoes in half. Thinly slice the red onion, and put all the ingredients in a large bowl.
  2. Add the lemon juice, vinegar, olive oil, and seasoning blend. Toss to mix.
  3. Top with feta cheese and sliced fresh basil.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

Yum that looks so healthy and delicious~ I'll have to try it using some lettuce as I'm currently overloaded with a garden-full waiting to be eaten lol. I'm sure the basil gives it amazing flavor combined with feta! Mmmmm...

definitely throw some lettuce in there! My favorite​ part about salad is that there is so much room to improvise and make it what you want.... ENJOY!

Good recipe!You shud share some great recipes off your website!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61888.55
ETH 3400.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50