DIGEST - Beans vs Google

in #food3 years ago

Hi, I happen to be a googler, if such word exists I will have to google that after this post. Anyway, few days ago I was served hot beans and sauce by my stepdaughter, and I started eating immediately not cos I was hungry but for the heat the beans held. As soon as I began eating I felt a lot of undone beans breaking up in my mouth, but for some unknown reason, I kept on eating, after a few spoons I paused to think of the health effects of well cooked beans versus half cooked beans, as a googler I went straight to my favorite website “www.google.com” I visit this website often enough to be called obsessed. So I entered the search box and typed in the words “half done beans vs well done beans” those quotes were also put into the search, google says putting those quotes returns a better search related result. When the results returned I saw a better question in the “people also asked” area. Someone had an article with the question “Are half cooked beans healthy?”, so I went straight to that because I believe it held the answers to what I was consuming. I clicked on the link to the article that held the answer to my question, and I got this revelation.
Are half cooked beans healthy?
Answer: If not cooked properly — Do Not Eat! Beans contain a compound called lectin. Lectins are glycoproteins that are present in a wide variety of commonly-consumed plant foods. Some are not harmful, but the lectins found in undercooked and raw beans are toxic.Oct 18, 2016
After reading, I called my stepdaughter and educated her on half cooked beans and told her the little I knew about lectins and how they could be harmful, and just before I finished my lecture she said “so.. I should cook it some more, yeah? “ I said yes, thank you. She took it back into the pot and boiled it till it was almost pasty, when she brought it and I noticed it was over cooked I guess you already know what I did, I went back to google and asked about overcooked beans and google educated me again and made it clear that there was more to lose, one being the loss of good taste, while over-cooking doesn't necessarily make food harmful, it certainly can take away from the flavor and make beans taste bad. Secondly, If you're cooking your beans for too long, it's possible that you're losing some of their nutritional value. Overcooking destroys bonds between molecules, significantly depleting the nutritients. For example, overcooking can destroy amino acids and many of the B vitamins, such as vitamins B1 and B5. After digesting the information, I commenced feasting on my tasteless beans, and from the very first bite I experienced a Déjà vu, the same half cooked beans breaking up in my mouth, as I paused wondering why that happened, I noticed there were carrots in the sauce, what? Yes, the beans had been done from the onset, it had been the carrots all along, and to be absolutely certain I went to check the pot and noticed the beans in the pot was perfectly cooked and not overcooked like the one I got served. I went ahead to eat and finish my overcooked beans. I have a whole lot going with google, I’ll be sure to share more of this experiences with you as time goes on.
Be well and google.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58404.34
ETH 2367.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45