Anyone for Halo Halo?! :P

in #food7 years ago

How about a refreshing, sweet, mix of shaved ice and evaporated milk.. then add various candied fruits, sweet beans, coconut, some flan (a delicious all by itself custard, but why not add it into this one?) and a scoop of purple ice cream. I had my first try of halo halo at the Filipino store in hawaii, but getting the real deal anywhere in the philippines is a much better deal and tastes way better, too.

e77c946553ce5323357acfa5c02080e0--halo--filipino-desserts.jpg

This is what you see on the poster at the store..

IMG_20170830_162447.jpg

(don't you just luv the marketing.. it doesn't look much like this in real life)

One common eatery located in just about every mall and on many street corners, is the great (as in pretty cheap, yet tasty food) Chow King.

IMG_20170830_161821.jpg

I wouldn't say this a favorite place of mine, but it's usually a strong second option whenever at the mall and deciding where to go eat. Actually, they have some good (again, for the money and quantity you get) sho pow (steamed buns with meat inside.. a Chinese food.. we called them mauna pua in hawaii and char siu bow in cali) and their shio mai is pretty good. (the steamed pork dumplings.. we called it pork hash in hawaii)

IMG_20170830_161655.jpg


IMG_20170830_161919.jpg

Here's one of their posters I took a pic of showing another good looking dish that I'll try later..

IMG_20170830_162043.jpg

Now back to the real reason I dropped in to chow king.. to get some halo halo! While I was busy taking pictures, my wife @jazzybells was graciously buying my the halo halo. It had to be to go because we had to go pick up the stinkers from school. I will try and be patient and wait till we stop the car at my son's school before I dig in! (btw, I always like to see how expensive things are, so it was 99 php, or about $4 usd)

Finally, we stopped. The halo halo was calling me. OK, here it comes..




Thanks for reading,

Ben


*first pic is from https://www.pinterest.com/pin/360991726357767583/


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by chinito from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Looks really refreshing. :)

Followed you because I just ordered a halo-halo, siomai, and fried rice from chowking today. I love their foods.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50