A good Mexican Restaurant I Found Here in the Philippines, just thought I would share.. :)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

One thing I miss most about life in USA.. there was always some good Mexican restaurant nearby. I guess that's because of mexico being located so close to USA , and because Mexican food is so darn delicious! Here in the Philippines, it is rare to find any Mexican food, unless you are a chef and cook it yourself like my buddy @sasha.shade.

One place that has some good Mexican food that I like to go to is called Champas. It's located at SM mall in Bulacan, philippines.. we stayed in Bulacan for 8 months when we first moved to the philippines. The staff has to be the best part of going to champas. They are so friendly and were among the first to really talk to me after moving here. (one of the waiters, not even the one who was waiting on us, came over and chatted with me for 10 minutes.. i guess he wanted to practice his English skills)

20170812_113147.jpg

On to some good food..

This is the first thing I always order no matter what Mexican place I'm at.. Where Da Nachoes?! I do prefer the kind with melted cheese and re-fried beans, but when in Bulacan, philippines, this a great find! I especially enjoy the jalepeno peppers because I luv me some hot & spicy food! Ma ang hang as they say in Tagalog. I also like the colorful chips they use. I prefer the red ones for some reason.

Here's a pic of something my wife got. I just wanted to show that they have more than just Mexican food. Nice looking chili dog.. but @sasha.shade's one looks way better.

20170812_115412-1.jpg

This is another must get for me. (my kids luv it, too) A funny thing to note.. the quesadillas come with freshly made salsa, but the nachoes do not. Is it just me who likes my nacho's with some salsa? I also order a side order of the salsa to eat with my favorite dish.. the Mexican Cheese steak..

20170812_120616.jpg

I've never seen this dish at any other Mexican restaurant I've been to, but it is great and one of the reasons I insist on going back to Champas whenever we go visit Bulacan.

Here are just some random shots I took to show the decor..

20170812_115954-1.jpg


20170812_115908.jpg


IMG_20170812_110150.jpg

Here's a little difference between things in US vs Philippines.. my coke comes in the tall, skinny can instead of the shape that I'm used to.. :P

IMG_20170812_113633.jpg

Champas also has good shakes and other drinks. (I like the blue lemonade drink they got) This is the mango smoothie that my wife got..

20170812_115333.jpg

To top off this great dining experience, I make the long walk (no, not quite as bad as on GOT, but i don't like walking and it is a good 5 minutes walk for me) to this little drink kiosk at the other end of the mall. Its called Java Lava. Interesting how they make their drinks.. they use a powder and mix different ingredients with ice to make a great frozen drink.

IMG_20170812_124605.jpg

I tried many of their drinks, but my favorite is the Buko (coconut) Pandan (a green sweet flavor that I've only found in Asia, the actual plant used to make it looks like grass) I get the 'super' cuz that's the biggest size they got!

IMG_20170812_125150.jpg

Thanks for coming along on this little food fest of mine. I hope I can go back there soon. Check them out if you are ever in bulacan, philippines. :)

Ben


Sort:  

Nice. How does it compare to real mexican food though? Is it like El Rodeo quality or closer to Taco Bell quality, somewhere in-between, or still very filipino in nature?

I'm a bit of a snob when it comes to mexican food which is why I have such a hard time finding a place that serves it that I enjoy. If this really is GOOD, that's one more reason i might consider moving towards bulacan, which is closer to the wife's family.

Nothing compared to real authentic Mexican food but they are one of the best ones we found here. Their salsa is more on the filipino side because it is kind of sweet but the rest are good. They are at SM Baliuag.

cool! i think it wouldn't meet ur standards, but if u just like any and all mexican food (taco bell included) then definitely go try this place. I would have to say the nachoes are more taco bell, the quesadillas are better, but the sandwhich (which isn't even real Mexican, yeah?) is a notch above the rest of the dishes. The salsa is also very good.. even compared to what I can get in USA. next time u are close to bulacan. go try. :)

i like nachos with cheese too 🌮

Glad you're enjoying here in the Philippines and the buko too! Mabuhay! :)

:) thanks.

I LIKE IT THIS ICECREEM
You have to work with someone in my group to which we have voted each other and those people also vote and comment to us, if you have to work then contact me on mobile WhatsApp Number-9737525233

Sarap!! Hoping to try this out when i get the chance to visit clark since its near bulacan area. Good post!

Great post @chinito. You know we love posts about delicious food! Keep up the great work!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by chinito from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Congratulations @chinito! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Those foods look yummy! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49