STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 01 Round 08 : Grapes Pulao (Rice recipe)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Pulao is a rice recipe and there are several varieties of Pulao across the Indian subcontinent. It is a one-pot meal and also used to eat as a part of any meal.
Traditionally pulao is made from rice cooked with different vegetables, spices, dry fruits and in some tradition non-vegan items also used.
This recipe is my entry for the contest organized by @progressivechef and theme of the contest is Grapes so I made Grapes Pulao
_MG_7525.JPG

Ingredients

  • Indian Basmati Rice - 2cups
  • Fresh Grapes - 1/2 cup
  • Dry fruits - 1/4 cup ( I used cashew nuts here)
  • Chopped Carrot - 1/4 cups (any seasonal vegetable can be used)
  • Chopped Onion - 1, garlic few buds and Green chili 2-3 nos
  • Clove buds, black pepper, cardamom, cinnamon sticks and dried cinnamon leaves - few nos each
  • Vegetable oil 2 tbsp
  • Cumin seeds - 1 tsp
  • Sugar 2 tsp
  • Salt to taste
  • Water to cook rice - 3 cups
    _MG_7520.JPG
    Main ingredients required

Procedure

  • Rinse rice in running water and soak in water for 15 minutes.
  • In a pan/boiler heat oil and add cumin seeds, when it crackled add all whole spices. Saute for couple of minutes.
  • Add chopped onion, garlic and green chili and dry fruits. Cook for few minutes.
  • Add rice, water. Cover the lid and cook on low flame until rice cooked properly.

IMG_7522.JPG

  • When rice is cooked add grapes and chopped carrot. Cover the lid and left for 10 minutes.
    Pulao is ready, Garnish with cashew nuts and cherry or anything you like
    Serve hot

Here is the proof that I made this recipe for the contest 👇
_MG_7532.JPG


text (1).gif

PEACE, LOVE, AND UNITY.png

Sort:  

Pulao and some mutton stew - that's all I need :)

maybe sometime you can try to process it with rice from Aceh Indonesia varieties Breh Sigupai.
it certainly is not less delicious

Sure would love to try if I get here at my place.

Is it not similar to ghee rice with grapes?

Your dish looks delicious. I will also try it.

I am also food blogger from India. I love to try new vegetarian dishes.
I started following you. Loved your blog posts...
I will also try to take participate in food contests.

Thanks, you are most welcome to participate in the contest. Keep watching here for next contest.

good post! greeting

Sounds delicious, @chetanpadliya! It's just about dinner time here... I could do with a plate of that!
Lol... Cheers, my friend! And good luck for the contest! :)

All the best for the contest...

That is a very interesting recipe, grapes and rice and nuts... creative!

Never heard about grapes pulao, good recipe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63223.35
ETH 2688.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55