MANDARIN UPSIDE DOWN VANILLA CAKE

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Mandarin upside down vanilla cake: A simple but colorful and delicious
Baking a cake is always a happiness as not only baking is a fun for me but kids love cake very much and they never demand a cake from outside always love a cake baked by me. Today's cake is a very simple vanilla cake but as soon as I saw this recipe I decided to make this colorful Mandarin cake.

Always I try to use some healthy ingredients instead of white sugar and flour but the first time I made this cake using refined white flour as I wanted to see the result and difference between refined and whole wheat flour baking. Yes, there is a difference in texture and taste but for regular baking, I will prefer whole wheat flour and unrefined sugar.

Ingredients
All purpose flour/refined wheat flour 1 and 1/2 cup
Mandarin 1 or 2 as required
Powdered sugar 1 cup or little less
Vegetable oil 1/4 cup
Vanilla essence/extract 2 tsp
Baking powder 1/2 tsp
Baking soda 1/2 tsp
Vinegar/lemon juice 1 tsp
Salt a pinch
Water or plant-based milk 3/4 cup
IMG_0891.JPG

Procedure-
Peel and slice mandarin, remove fibers if possible( I didn't remove but after baking, I realized it should be removed whatever possible)

Grease a baking tray with oil and sprinkle some sugar, arrange mandarin slice as in below picture.
IMG_0896.JPG

Pass all dry ingredients through a sieve to make a uniform mixture.

Add all liquid ingredients except vinegar and make a smooth batter.

At last, add vinegar and mix gently before pouring in the baking tray.
IMG_0898.JPG
Cake just after baked
Preheat the oven at 180-degrees Celcius and bake for 25-30 minutes.

Cool it down at room temperature and de-mold the cake gently.

Serve it upside down. Mandarin gives it a distinct flavor and taste
IMG_09091.jpg

Do you like to bake your cake, and which is your favorite cake?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60637.39
ETH 2405.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59