Stay Cool This Summer With Tasty Korean Food

in #food8 years ago (edited)

With temperatures hitting 42c with humidity in Toronto, I thought I’d share some of my favorite Korean dishes to help stay cool during this heat wave.

Growing up as a kid with a Korean chef as a dad, I’d say I was pretty fortunate. Being able to eat restaurant quality foods everyday was a treat that I only now realize. Being exposed to a lot of different flavors and textures was sometimes not pleasant as a kid, but now I appreciate the exposure I got. I love trying new things.

Here are a few of my fav tasty dishes to stay cool.


MUL-NAENGMYEON

It is a super chilled soup. Tastes super delicious when the broth is chilled to a slush, and the noodles are cold and chewy. The broth is traditionally made from the brine of fermented radish kimchi, juiced Korean pear and beef stock. But nowadays, the noodle packages come with a premade soup packet that you simply mix in with water and put in the freezer. There is also a spicy version if you’re into spice.

The soup is then topped with cucumber, boiled eggs, Korean pear, mushrooms, radish…. Etcetc. Basically you can top this soup with anything you like. Heck, you can even eat this during the winter. Who cares?

This soup will leave you feeling refreshed and relaxed. I highly recommend trying this at least once.


HAEJANGGUK

Sometimes you gatta fight fire with fire. Beat the summer heat with more heat. This is a hot soup, super delicious and also very nutritious. Great for recovering after a days work under the hot sun. It’s also known as the “Hangover Soup”. After a lot of partying at night, eat this the next day and you’ll feel like a million bucks.

The broth is made from boiling Ox bones for hours and hours until all the meat, ligaments, and marrow dissolve and leave you with this beautiful white milky broth. Its full of everything your body needs to endure a hot summer. It is also full of collagen which is great for your skin to recover from the sun’s hot rays.

The only downside to this soup is that it takes FOREVER to make, because you have to boil the bones for hours, sometimes for a whole day and a half. But guess what? It is worth it. Trust me, you won't regret it.


PATBINGSU (ICE CREAM BIBIMBAP)


It’s the Korean version of an ice cream sundae. Its shaved ice cream with a mountain load of fruits of all kinds, sweet red beans and rice cake. Then it is topped with spoonfuls of sweet condensed milk.

Who doesn't like FRUITS AND SUGAR? ON ICE? Need I say more.


MILKIS (Summer Drink)


This is my favorite drink by far. I used to drink the “healthier” version of this in the mini bottles called Yakult. Every morning I’d drink a few little bottles. Then I found out about Milkis and I was mind blown.

Yakult is basically fermented milk, it’s great for your tummy. High in good bacteria, it’s a great probiotic dairy product.

Milkis tastes a lot like Yakult except it’s like the soda version, and it is also not as healthy. It’s has a sweet, milky flavor but it is also kind of tangy. There are a lot of different flavors that you can try, but I suggest trying the original first. It is delicious.


I suggest trying Maangchi’s recipes, they’re great and authentic. She’s also really adorable and fun to watch.

Frist 2 Pictures are from Maangchi's Weebsite. --> http://www.maangchi.com/


Hope you enjoy!
Stay cool.

Sort:  

I only recently discovered Korean food, and all my experiences have been good.

Do you like Japchae @talanhorne? I just put my Japchae recipe up on Steemit a few hours ago. Enjoy!

I'm afraid I've never had it.

Thanks for sharing though i prefer the last 2 for a hot day and welcome the hot or soupy food on a cold day.

Great minds think alike! Ha! I just posted a recipe for Japchae here on Steemit a few hours ago! I've got some kimchi fermenting in the kitchen too... just started that a few days ago! Cheers @cherish

YUM! Japchae is also one of my favs. I'll def check it out :3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77