You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Bitter is That Wild Plant? - Bitter Flavors in Wild Plants - How Much Is Too Much?

in #food7 years ago

This is really cool. Following.

  1. Chocolate - I like both types. I don't have an overtly strong preference one way or the other. I like the strong 70% + cocoa content just as well as something milkier. Depends on my mood I guess.
  2. Coffee. I love coffee. I like light, medium, and dark/bold blends. I do have to have cream. I CAN NOT drink black coffee. It is utterly revolting to me. However, and I've heard other people say this, adding SUGAR makes the coffee more bitter to me. If I'm going to add sweetener, i use honey.
  3. Beer - i am not a beer connisuer ...but I've always preferred lighter beers

I bet I'm totally off base here but what about these other food categories predicting if you will like a bitter plant?

  • vinegar (i largely dislike )
  • wine
  • very sharp cheeses or very blue cheeses
  • salty foods
  • spicey arugula - i eat arugula by itself, what compound makes it have the delightful spicey taste that makes me devour it by the handful?
  • cilantro? Is this a bitter food? No. ..but it's decidedly with a unique taste.

Do any of those fiod categories fit in you think?
Do you have any foraging guides? I would like to forage and not die in the process....

Sort:  

Thanks for such a thoughtful response! It sounds like you would go for more mild flavored greens, rather than the more bitter ones. But -- that can change over time. The other foods you list are strong flavors, but not bitter flavors. Maybe a good comparison, rather than arugula, would be radicchio or endive, or if you garden, older lettuce that is starting to bolt. I should add those to my list.

I'll have to write more about foraging guides. I've used a lot of them over the years! Thanks for the idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41