Salmon with Morels and Spring Vegetables

in #food6 years ago

Morel mushrooms signal the arrival of spring to me. So, yesterday when I saw some perfect morel mushrooms in the market, I knew that I had to make a spring celebration dish. Spring foods are all about simplicity. Just cooking the mushrooms in cream creates a deeply flavored and satisfying sauce in under five minutes. In fact this whole dish came together in under twenty minutes and has so many wonderful tastes and textures.


Ingredients

  • Salmon
  • White Wine
  • Lemon
  • Fennel
  • Pernod
  • Olive Oil
  • Morel Mushrooms
  • Cream
  • English Peas
  • Snow Peas
  • Spring Onion
  • Baby Carrots
  • Radish
  • Dill

Method

  • Boil two cups of water with two cups of white wine with a big pinch of salt and a few slices of lemon for 3 minutes. Turn off the heat and add the salmon. Let the salmon poach for five minutes.

  • Cut the fennel into small dice and put into a pressure cooker with a few spoons of olive oil, a large splash of Pernod and just enough water to cover the bottom of the pan. Pressure cook for 5 minutes then uncover and cook until all the water evaporates. Season with a squeeze of lemon juice and then fold in some minced fennel fronds. The fennel should be soft.

  • Cook the morel mushrooms in cream and a pinch of salt until the water releases from the mushroom and then continue cooking until the sauce thickens up. Add a drop of lemon juice to balance the richness of the cream.

  • Steam the English Peas, snow peas, spring onions and the baby carrots.

  • Thinly slice the radish on a mandoline and pick some sprigs of fresh dill.

  • Take the salmon from the hot poaching liquid and blot it dry on a towel. Put the fish onto a warmed serving plate and season with coarse salt. Top the fish with the fennel compote. Arrange the steamed vegetables and mushrooms around the the fish and spoon the sauce over the vegetables. Garnish the dish with the radishes and dill.


This dish is so welcome after a long and cold winter. The clean and fresh flavors of spring get me thinking about the upcoming foraging season and how summer's bounty is just around the corner.

Thanks for stopping by today to read my post. Please ask me any questions about this dish in the comments section below. I look forward to hearing from you!

Chef Steve

Sort:  

Looks good @chefsteve. I'm not a mushroom fan - but I'd certainly like to try them out this way

Thanks @leelektrik. Morels are a great "gateway" mushroom. They will get you hooked!

Looks simply amazing @chefsteve - wish I was there to taste your cooking

Thanks @pandamama! I wish I could share it with everyone. I guess this is the next best way!

Thank you @edenmichelle! It was very tasty and a great dish to welcome spring.

What a lovely dish! It’s simple yet elaborate at the same time. The balance of the light ingredients partnered with the richness of the cream perfectly rounds out the dish. The best part is that it doesn’t take long to make and yet it sounds complete and satisfying.

Well said! It was both light and satisfying!

Loading...

Looks like Spring on a plate. If I don't like the taste of Pernod can you recommend another substitution? Well done!

Thanks for your question @loveself. If you do not like the taste of Pernod then you can leave the alcohol out. I add Pernod to the fennel compote to boost the anise flavor. The dish will still taste good without the Pernod.

Thanks for the tip!

Love this healthy looking dish with all the wonderful veggies! Photos are also great @chefsteve :)

Thank you @dianadee! I'm a big fan of vegetables and healthy foods!

We all need to be mindful about the nutrients that help our bodies to maximise optimim health ☺

Looks so tempting, love the method to cook the salmon and the mushrooms. Very well done.

Thanks @jorgegp! I like this method too. It is clean, simple and fast!

looks a nice dish for my wife and her new diet may try something close to this tomorrow

That is great. I hope she enjoys your version!

I hope so as well it’s hRd for her she loved ved spicy food and now her options are so limited

This looks sooo delicious& healthy at the same time @chefsteve! I've never heard of morel mushrooms!

Thank you @lizelle! I appreciate you reading my post. Morel mushrooms are a real treat. If you can't find them fresh where you live then you can probably find them dried.

Thank you @chefsteve, will definitely look out for that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65