Spicy Lemon Seasoned Garbanzo Beans

in #food7 years ago

One time, when I was in my early teens, my parents took my sister and me to a lovely salad buffet called Sweet Tomatoes (Sadly they've gone out of business!). I had immediately noticed the large bin of chickpeas and piled my plate full, because if you couldn't tell from the story, they're my favorite bean.

On any day you can find a bag or can of garbanzo beans in my pantry, probably even two. I enjoy them for lunches or a pre-prepared snack. That's why I'm sharing a very well used recipe now, spicy lemon seasoned garbanzo beans.

  • What You'll Need:
  1. 2 cups of uncooked instant brown rice
  2. 1 tablespoon of Canola oil
  3. 1 medium onion, chopped
  4. 2 cans 15 oz each of garbanzo beans (chickpeas), rinse and drain.
  5. 1 can 14 oz of diced tomatoes, undrained
  6. 1 cup of vegetable broth
  7. 1/4 teaspoon of pepper
  8. 1/2 teaspoon of grated lemon peel
  9. 2 tablespoons of lemon juice
  10. 1 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes, or to taste.
  • Cooking Instructions:

Cook rice according to package, and set aside.

Heat Canola oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onion and cook until tender; around 3-4 minutes.

Add chickpeas/garbanzo beans, tomatoes, broth, and pepper.

Bring to boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer for 10 minutes.

Uncover and simmer for an addition 3-5 minutes until liquid is slightly reduced.

Stir in lemon juice and lemon peel.

Simmer for an additional 3-5 minutes.

Serve by topping rice with lemony beans. Enjoy!

Sort:  

Never thought about doing a citrus seasoned chickpea dishes. Thanks for the suggestion.

My favourite pulse too. I love them done in a rich tomato sauced, spiced with chilli and chorizo sausage. Great. Must try yours. X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76