Homemade Pizza Worth Making From Scratch

in #food7 years ago

1456664125245-01.jpeg

Pizza at home is...meh

That is, until you have a few of the right tools. One of the favorite gadgets I got for the kitchen was the Nerd Chef baking steel. The steel transfers heat energy much faster to your crust than a stone which ends up giving you a crispier crust.

Patience is key to a good home pizza as well. Let the dough sit in the fridge for a few days to cold ferment. It makes for a less chewy, more tender crust. It's also easier to stretch into a nice pie.

I get my oven up to 550F for 45 minutes minimum with the steel on the top rack of the oven leaving about a top area of 6 inches of open space. Set the pizza toppings up and crank the top broiler on high. Slide the pizza in and I'm about ready to take it out in 2-3 minutes.

Sort:  

Congratulations @chadwickthecrab! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You can't beat homemade , I have a cool pizza oven, Maybe I should photo it and show it off :)

I'd like to see it! I've had this dream of building myself an outdoor brick oven. One day...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59608.09
ETH 2475.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46