Steemit Food Challenge #4: 15 Minute Dinner - Spaghetti Squash Chicken Lo Mein

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Fast. Healthy. Tasty. You CAN get dinner on the table in 15 minutes.   

This week’s Steemit Food Challenge asked us to submit a dinner recipe that can be prepared in 15 minutes (and that creatively used the Steemit logo, might I add). The challenge was timely (sort of a pun), as I got home late last night and had a hungry husband. He was about to break open a box of mac & cheese (his go-to for a quick dinner), but I told him to hold on a few minutes...well, 15 to be exact. By employing a few shortcuts I concocted something akin to a chicken lo mein, but using spaghetti squash.   

The freezer is my best friend when it comes preparing food fast. I always have some pre-cooked grains, frozen fruit and vegetables (some pre-packaged, some prepped by me like zoodles, cubed butternut squash, cauliflower rice, or sections of frozen bananas), cubed chicken (uncooked and cooked) divided into various portions, homemade tomato and pesto sauce, fully prepared entrees (e.g., casseroles), and Dorot’s precut garlic, basil, parsley, onions, and chili.   

I am obsessed with Dorot’s line of frozen garlic, onion, and herbs. I probably have a dozen units in my freezer right now (I tend to stock up when I find them). Like frozen fruits and vegetables, they are picked and packaged at peak freshness, ensuring optimal flavor, nutrients, and the pre-portioned cubes make it a cinch to add just the amount you need (for example, 1 cube of garlic = ~ 1 tsp or 1 clove). Plus there’s the bonus of not having to clean a knife and cutting board.  

On another night I may have used some of the pre-cooked brown rice or quinoa that’s currently sitting in my freezer, but I had a spaghetti squash on my counter so I opted for that instead. Given the time restraint (and hungry husband), I chose the quick-and-dirty method of cooking it in the microwave. The protein and veggies in this recipe are entirely up to you – some alternatives are listed below. As always, if it’s a recipe I’m working with, it needs to be versatile. I don’t have the patience for finding recipes, writing out grocery lists, purchasing said groceries, and then preparing the recipes. I need a recipe foundation that can be adjusted on a whim, and this is one such example.   

Ingredients: 

  • 1 spaghetti squash – choose the size for your needs 1.5 cups pre-cooked chicken (or other protein, such as tofu, tempeh, beans, scrambled eggs, or even raw chicken diced and cooked along with the veggies) 
  • Vegetables: frozen or fresh, variety to your liking (I used 4 fresh celery stalks and 1 bag of frozen diced bell peppers) 
  • Diced chilis, jalapenos, or Sriracha sauce for some heat and depth – type and amount is variable (I used 1 cube of Dorot’s chili and ~2 tsp Sriracha) 
  • ~½ cup diced onion (I used 2 sections of the cubed Dorot’s glazed onions)  
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, minced (I used 3 cubes of Dorot’s garlic) 
  • ~1 Tbsp rice wine vinegar (optional, I liked it at the end to add a bit of brightness) 
  • Cooking oil: I used canola   

For the sauce: 

  • 2-3 Tbsp low-sodium soy sauce or Bragg’s Amino Acids 
  • 2-3 tsp sugar: it can be white sugar, brown sugar, honey, agave, etc. – amount to your liking (I used 2-3 tsp brown sugar) 
  • 1 tsp ground ginger (grated fresh ginger would probably be nice too) 
  • 1 tsp sesame oil 1-2 tsp cornstarch (optional, it makes the sauce a bit thicker)   

Directions:  

  1. Start with the spaghetti squash. Cut in half lengthwise, scoop out the seeds, place cut-side down in a cooking dish with a lip (a la Pyrex dish) in ½-1 inches of water and microwave for 10-15 minutes, depending on the size of your squash. **Admittedly, you need to move fast here if you’re starting with a fresh spaghetti squash. I cooked mine for about 11 minutes. 
  2. In the meantime, heat up a pan with some cooking oil and start to cook your onions and any fresh vegetables. After a few minutes add in the garlic, any frozen veggies, and any chili or jalapeno (Sriracha could probably wait a step or two; and if you’re using raw chicken, add here). 
  3. Prepare the sauce by mixing all ingredients together; adjust to your taste preferences. 
  4. Add the sauce to the pan of veggies and continue cooking (I’d add other proteins like tofu, tempeh, eggs, or beans at this stage).  
  5. Once the spaghetti squash is done, remove from the microwave and add the frozen chicken - heat up 2-3 minutes. 
  6. Use a fork to shred the flesh into spaghetti-like strands (you won’t have time to let it cool, so you’ll need to hold the squash with an oven mitt or towel). 
  7. Add the chicken to the pan and continue cooking to fully heat through. Then add the spaghetti squash and a splash or two of the rice wine vinegar (*you can add the Sriracha sauce here if you’d like). Toss to combine and serve immediately!  

(cooking the spaghetti squash in the microwave)

(cooking the veggies, sauce, and heating through the chicken in the pan)

(and the final product)

*Nutrition Information based on 4 servings using MyFitnessPal.

Recipe by , MS, RDN

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99