Vegetable Maki Rolls

in #food6 years ago (edited)

su.jpg

It wasn't until about fifteen years ago in Montreal that I ever tried maki rolls or sushi. I thought all of it was called sushi.
Up until then I always thought that raw fish was all you could get when you ate sushi. Then I found out there are many ways to have it. Maki rolls could have anything inside it.

Here in Mexico, if you want to buy it ready made, as we often did back home, it always has some sort of animal product in it. They just wouldn't sell any if they didn't put cream cheese in it at least.

The ingredients all together cost more than we have been willing to spend but we went for it. It would cost us more to eat it in a restaurant anyway.

I made two different kinds. One was carrot, avocado, beet, cucumber. The other was mushroom steamed and marinated in sesame oil and rice wine vinegar.

su2.jpg

su1.jpg

The sushi rice is boiled according to the instructions for those, unlike myself who follow instructions. Then sprinkle rice wine vinegar all around, mix and cool. When it is cool spread it on the nori sheet and make sure you get it close to the sides.

ezgif.com-optimize (7).gif

If you have guests, you should cut both ends off and put them aside. They won't be so attractive.

I didn't buy pickled ginger, because I don't have a fridge to keep the rest in, and I always used to have quite a bit left over. So I made my own the night before by thinly slicing ginger and marinating it in rice wine vinegar, salt and a little agave nectar. I normally don't use sugar but I decided to get agave nectar to use sparingly. To make the pink version of the pickled ginger typically used on sushi and maki, I added a slice of beet to color it. I also didn't bother with wasabi which I do like but I thought I would just sprinkle some chili for some burning action.

This made quite a bit actually so I will make more down the road with a different filling.

su3.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, that's an excellent post!!! Perfect for beginners, too, because with your explanation and video I'M sure that everyone could prepare it. Thank you so much for sharing :)

Oh wow thank you! It is easy overall but it requires a few steps. It's super fun anyway.

Wow! It's very yummy and delicious Vegetable Maki Rolls. And also looks very beautiful.
You are doing a great food work @carolynstahl.
I really like your style. Thank you so much for this very easy and quick recipe.

Thank you so much @anayakhan I appreciate your nice comments.

Omg I love this post!!! Amazing and the video makes it so simpl and easy to make yourself. Thanks so much for posing this! 💚

Thanks so much for that wonderful comment. I really appreciate it :)

You deserve the recognition! Keep up the plant based recipes. Following 😉

I'm following you too!

woooww .. looks so delicious ! excellent food shot and composition. love it. congratulations my friend

Hola @carolynstahl me gustan tus post de comida, si gustan sigueme.

Muchas Gracias

Hello I really like your post of suchi, if you want to start following me I'm new to this, regards

Your homemade pickled ginger recipe is perfection, the pickled ginger is my favourite part of sushi 🤤

Yes it turned out really good but stronger than the one in the jar. I like it better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63079.17
ETH 3466.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51