Vegan Rice And Veggies With Ginger Sesame Sauce

in #food6 years ago (edited)

This dish was made fast and easy with my limited tools and no kitchen in my airbnb. I didn't use oil and I also didn't use sugar to give the sauce a little sweetness, like an Asian dressing.

I simply put the rice in the pot with diced onions and shredded carrots on top. I actually used the spiralizer instead of trying to julienne with a steak knife which is all I have for a knife.

ric.jpg

I also added some spiralized chayote squash. I often eat it raw. It has a mild pleasant taste like a mix of potato and cucumber and the texture much like an apple.

riceee.jpg

I have only eaten it once in Canada as a child. At least from what I remember.

rrric.jpg

I added the chayote to the rice pot closer to the end to keep it from getting too soft and I also added broccoli at the end so that I could keep the florets nice and green.

ricc.jpg

The sauce was sweetened with raisins, garlic, ginger, sesame seeds,hot pepper soy sauce a little vinegar lime juice a spoon of peanut butter and a little water. It was blended to a creamy texture ready for the rice and vegetables.

It was topped with sesame seeds and peanuts.

I was surprised that even though I didn't saute any of it in sesame oil like I would if I had a kitchen and tools, that it was perfectly tasty just steamed in one pot.

rice.jpg

I'm also surprised that I don't have to use sugar or syrup or any sweetener. The ground up raisins are perfect. I used to use dates in the past when I was avoiding sugar but the raisins are much more economical and don't taste like raisins when blended with other ingredients.

Thanks for dropping by

@carolynstahl

Sort:  

Yes it is one of my new favorites!

GINGER gives me life. Can never have to much of it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73