Vegan Cream Of Onion And Carrot Noodle Soup

in #food6 years ago

You know how the common old remedy for colds is chicken soup? Well I don't care what anyone says, I don't believe that chickens were put here to do that job.

The way to make a proper chicken soup is to of course throw the poor chicken in the water and boil for an hour or so. Along with that you will put in the bouquet garni, a sac which consists of herbs, usually parsley bay leaves thyme. Along with that would be onion and garlic.

I am sure that the remedy was not the broth of the chicken, but the broth of the herbs garlic and onion which were in it. So I am convinced that the soup I made today with a mixture of red, white, and green onions, and garlic, along with a sliver of fresh ginger and fresh turmeric, would be a great way to perk someone up that was bed ridden with the flu. Onions have been used in non traditional medicine for ages.

Okay so forget the cold and flu stuff. The soup I made today was delicious and believe it or not, it was not overpowering with a strong onion taste.

oonion.jpg

I sauteed the onions and garlic, ginger and turmeric in olive oil then covered it with a small amount of water then added salt and boiled it until it was thoroughly cooked, then removed it from the burner.

onion.jpg

It was blended until it was smooth and creamy then put aside. Then I made a roux with flour and soy milk by putting a little soy milk in the pot than adding a tablespoon or so of flour and stirring until it was smooth. I added a little more soy milk to get my desired consistency than poured in the onion mixture.

The onions after being carmelized and rendered down become quite sweet so I added a tiny bit of lime juice. I would have used lemon but here in Mexico lemons are uncommon where as limes are everywhere. I think a couple drops of vinegar would have also done the job.

I was originally going to keep it like that but at the end I decided to get out my spiralizer and spiralize some carrots into noodles and add them to the soup. So the creamy onion soup became creamy onion and carrot noodle soup.

This was not, like I said, overpowering with an onion taste so it was not too much for my liking to add a green onion garnish. I also added cracked black pepper.

onionn.jpg

I thought I would still be hungry after that but It was actually filling enough. I did have two bowls though.

onnoion.jpg

on.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

What fabulous colours!

You made me hungry😋

It really looks so tasty. I will try to make this dish. i just upvote this post. check out my new post. I hope you like it. https://steemit.com/feelling/@maggiea/i-love-my-mom

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60813.09
ETH 3389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52